Commissioners of St. Mary's County Meeting Minutes (Tuesday, January 9, 2018)

Generated by Sharon Ferris on Wednesday, January 10, 2018

Members present

Commissioner President James R. Guy Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt Commissioner Tom Jarboe Commissioner Todd B. Morgan Commissioner John E. O'Connor Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator Sharon Ferris, Recorder

1. WELCOME

Commissioner President Guy called the business meeting of the Commissioners of St. Mary's County to order at 9:00 am in the Chesapeake Building Meeting Room, Governmental Center.

Approval of Consent Agenda

I move to approve the Consent Agenda, which includes the minutes of December 19, 2017.

Motion by Commissioner Tom Jarboe, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

2. MAIN AGENDA ACTION ITEMS

A. DEPT. LAND USE AND GROWTH MANAGEMENT - Amendments to the Sign Ordinance Briefing

Present: Hill Hunt, Director, Dept. of Land Use and Growth Management David Weiskopf, Acting County Attorney

A Sign Focus Group (SFG) was established to review and recommend amendments to the Sign Ordinance that was adopted in September 2016. The results of that focus group were presented for the Commissioners consideration. The SFG will reconvene to refine their recommendations then report back to the Commissioners.

B. DEPT. LAND USE AND GROWTH MANAGEMENT - Request for Public Hearing, Amendment to the Sign Ordinance for the Location of Signs with Electronic Displays

I move to authorize the Department of Land Use and Growth Management to schedule a Public Hearing on proposed amendments to the Sign Ordinance for the Location of Signs with Electronic Displays.

Motion by Commissioner Tom Jarboe, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

C. OFFICE OF THE COUNTY ATTORNEY - Request for Public Hearing on Disposition of Property

I move to approve a public hearing for the purpose of receiving public comment on the disposition of 1.264 acres of real property, known as San Souci swimming pool parcel, owned by the County.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

3. LEGISLATION

A. LEGISLATIVE UPDATE - Office of the County Attorney

Present: David Weiskopf

The following status was provided.

Electrical Code Amendments - A draft bill for this proposal was received.

<u>Library Board of Trustees Bill</u> - The Office of the County Attorney has received a draft bill for this proposal.

<u>Alcohol Beverages</u> - Art Establishment License - This bill is not going to be introduced.

4. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

A. DRAFT AGENDAS FOR JANUARY 23 AND 30, 2018.

B. DEPT. OF HUMAN RESOURCES - 457(b) Briefing with Plan Vendor and Investment Selection Recommendations

Present: Catherine Pratson, Director, Dept. of Human Resources Michael P. Beczkowski, Senior Consultant, Bolton Partners Consulting Group Holly Bangs, Retirement Plan Consultant, Bolton Partners Consulting Group

St. Mary's County Employees have the option of deferring a portion of their salary into a Deferred Compensation Plan. Currently there are three (3) 457(b) Deferred Plans from which to choose. The Commissioners entered into an agreement with Bolton Partners Consulting Group for issuance of a Request for Proposal (RFP) to solicit a single 457 plan vendor. A summary of the RFP process and the analysis that resulted in the recommendation of Voya was presented.

C. DEPT OF PUBLIC WORKS AND TRANSPORTATION - Ranieri Run Phase 1 Road Acceptance

Motion 1: I move to adopt the Resolution to accept Almar Street, Hilton Run Court, and Simmons Street in the Ranieri Run, Phase 1 Subdivision, into the County Highway Maintenance System.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

Motion 2: I move to adopt the Ordinance setting a maximum speed and establishing stop intersections in the Ranieri Run, Phase 1 subdivision.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

D. DEPT. OF AGING & HUMAN SERVICES - 2018 Point In Time Survey funding request

I move to approve Continuum of Care Chairperson, Sara Martin's request for \$2,000 to proceed with the annual Point In Time Survey, and authorize Commissioner President Guy to execute the related documents.

Motion by Commissioner Tom Jarboe, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor **E. DEPT OF FINANCE -** Proposed Plan of Action for Property Tax Credit for Public Safety Officers Focus Group

I move to approve the proposed plan of action to establish the Focus Group on Property Tax Credit for Public Safety Officers as presented by staff and approve Consent letter to Delegation regarding Emergency Rescue volunteers.

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Tom Jarboe. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

5. COMMISSIONERS' TIME

The Commissioners highlighted events attended over the past week and provided general comments.

6. ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 11:15 am.

Minutes Approved by the Commissioners of St. Mary's County on <u>1/23/18</u>

SLF

Sharon Ferris, Administrative Assistant

7. PUBLIC FORUM

Present: Commissioner President James R. Guy Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt Commissioner Tom Jarboe Commissioner Todd B. Morgan Commissioner John E. O'Connor Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator Tony Jones, Public Information Officer Sharon Ferris, Recorder

Commissioner President Guy opened the Public Forum at 6:30 p.m. Tony Jones, Public Information Officer, provided the format for the meeting and called on the first speaker.

Public comments given by:

Dorothy Waters, 45315 Happyland Rd, Valley Lee, MD 20692 Michael Roberts, 18655 Elmo's Way, Drayden, MD 20630 Daniel Brown, 18675 Windswept Lane, Valley Lee, MD 20692 John J. Winters, 21020 Lightfoot Way, Leonardtown, MD 20650 Stephanie Boyd, 18145 River Rd., Tall Timbers, MD 20690 Georgia Wheeler, 18231 River Rd., Tall Timbers, MD 20690 Timothy Simms, 73083 Almond Ct., California, MD 20619 Dee Dee Johnson, 45245 Lighthouse Rd., Piney Point, MD 20674

Commissioner President Guy closed the public forum at 7:05 pm.