Commissioners of St. Mary's County Meeting Minutes(Tuesday, January 19, 2016)

Generated by Sharon Ferris on Thursday, January 21, 2016

Members present

Commissioner President James R. Guy Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Tom Jarboe, Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, Commissioner John E. O'Connor Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator Sharon Ferris, Recorder

1. OUTSIDE EVENT

A. DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT - Joint Encroachment Mitigation and Prevention Meeting

Commissioner President Guy opened the Joint Encroachment Mitigation and Prevention meeting at 9:00 am in the Frank Knox Building, Building 2189, Naval Air Station. Patuxent River.

Present:

CAPT Heidi Fleming, Commanding Officer, NAS Patuxent River CAPT Scott Starkey, Executive Officer, NAS Patuxent River Melanie Anderson, Atlantic Test Range, Sustainability Office Russell Byrd, Community Planning Liaison Officer, NAVFAC-WASHINGTON CDR Alexander Moore, Public Works Officer, NAVFAC-WASHINGTON CDR Anthony Rojas, Air Operations Officer

County Staff:

Chris Kaselemis, Director, Dept. of Economic Development Robin Finnacom, Deputy Director, Dept. of Economic Development Donna Sasscer, Agriculture Manager, Dept. of Economic Development

Ms. Finnacom provided an overview of the Cooperative Agreement between the Commanding Officer, NAS Patuxent River and the Commissioners of St. Mary's County for Encroachment Mitigation and Prevention signed in 2007 and the 2016 version presented today.

Commissioner O'Connor moved, second by Commissioner Jarboe, to authorize the Commissioner President to sign the renewed Cooperative Agreement between the Commanding Officer, NAS Patuxent River, and Commissioners of St. Mary's County for Encroachment Mitigation and Prevention. Motion carried 5-0.

CAPT Fleming and Commissioner President Guy signed the Cooperative Agreement. Additional topics covered during the meeting included Readiness Environment Protection Integration (REPI), status of the proposed expansion of the Mattapany Rural Legacy Area, implementing recommendations from the Joint Land Use Study (JLUS), and impact on

closure of Runway 14-32. A State Highway Administration presentation to update road projects was suggested as a topic for the next joint meeting.

A Proclamation was presented to CAPT Fleming.

Commissioner Guy closed the meeting at 10:30 am.

B. DEPT. OF PUBLIC WORKS & TRANSPORTATION - FDR Tour

The Commissioners joined George Erichsen, Director, Department of Public Works and Transportation for a tour of selected portions of the proposed FDR Boulevard Corridor.

2. ADJOURN

LUNCH

3. WELCOME

Commissioner President Guy called the regular business meeting to order at 1:30 pm in the Chesapeake Building meeting room, Governmental Center.

Approval of Minutes

I move to approve the minutes of January 12, 2016 as presented.

Motion by Commissioner Tom Jarboe, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

4. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

A. DRAFT AGENDAS FOR JANUARY 26 AND FEBRUARY 2, 2016

B. COUNTY ATTORNEY - Renewal of Lease to Newtowne Players Inc.

I move to approve renewal of the lease of 21744 Coral Place, Lexington Park, Maryland, to Newtowne Players Inc. and authorize the Office of the County Attorney to so advise the Newtowne Players.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

C. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR - Appoint 2016 Vice President for St. Mary's County Commissioners

I move to appoint Michael L. Hewitt, District 2, to serve as Vice President for the Commissioners of St. Mary's County for 2016.

Motion by Commissioner Tom Jarboe, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

5. MAIN AGENDA ACTION ITEM

COUNTY ATTORNEY - Resolution to Approve Drug-free School Zone Map for Captain Walter Francis Duke Elementary School

I move to adopt the Resolution to approve a Drug-free School Zone Map for Captain Walter Francis Duke Elementary School.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Tom Jarboe.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

6. COMMISSIONER'S TIME

The Commissioners highlighted events attended over the past week and provided general comments.

7. ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 2:00 pm.
Minutes Approved by the Commissioners of St. Mary's County on
Sharon Ferris, Senior Administrative Coordinator

8. PUBLIC HEARING - CODE HOME RULE

Bay District Fire Department, 46900 Southern Shangri La Dr, Lexington Park, MD 20653

Present:

Commissioner President James R. Guy Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt Commissioner Tom Jarboe Commissioner John E. O'Connor Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator George Sparling, County Attorney Leslie Knapp, Jr, Legal and Policy Counsel, MACo Sharon Ferris, Recorder

Mr. Knapp provided an overview of the three forms of County Governments in Maryland: Commissioner, Charter and Code Home Rule. He then answered questions from the audience pertaining to his presentation.

Commissioner Guy opened the Public Hearing for Public Comment.

The following citizens expressed their views on Code Home Rule.

Support for Code Home Rule.

R. Keith Fairfax, 46516 Walnut Court, Lexington Park, MD 20653 Larry Polsky, 20201 Heron Lane, Lexington Park, MD 20653 Bruce Theden, 21681 Harrison St., Great Mills, MD 20634

Non-Support of Code Home Rule.

James Raley, 26737 Radio Station Way, Leonardtown, MD 20650 (Representing the Farm Bureau)

Undecided about Code Home Rule

Keith Harless, 23225 Mirfield Ln., Lexington Park, MD 20653 Marcia Greenberg, 47977 Memory Lane, St. Mary's City, MD 20686

There were no other citizens wishing to speak so Commissioner Guy closed the public Hearing at 7:55 pm

9. ADJOURN