ST. MARY'S COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS' MEETING Tuesday, March 20, 2012

Present: Commissioner President Francis Jack Russell

Commissioner Lawrence D. Jarboe Commissioner Cynthia L. Jones Commissioner Todd B. Morgan Commissioner Daniel L. Morris John Savich, County Administrator

Sharon Ferris (Recorder)

CALL TO ORDER

Commissioner President Russell called the business meeting to order at 9:00 am in the Chesapeake Building meeting room, Governmental Center.

ADDITIONS/DELETIONS TO AGENDA

Commissioner Jones moved, seconded by Commissioner Morgan, to add the Executive Session at 1:00 pm for the purpose of Litigation Article 24, Section 4-210(a)8. Motion carried 5-0.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Commissioner Jarboe moved, seconded by Commissioner Morris, to adopt the minutes of March 13, 2012 as presented. Motion carried 5-0.

DEPT. OF HUMAN RESOURCES: EMPLOYEE SERVICE AWARDS

Present: Sue Sabo, Director, Dept. of Human Resources

June Robrecht, Deputy Director, Dept. of Human Resources

Service awards were presented to employees who have provided from ten to forty years of service to St. Mary's County Government.

COMMENDATION WAS PRESENTED TO NICHOLE BYERS IN RECOGNITION OF HER OUTSTANDING SERVICE TO THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY AS A VOLUNTEER INTERN

DEPT. OF PUBLIC SAFETY & IT: NATIONAL OCEANIC AND ATMOSPHERIC ADMINISTRATION'S NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE RECOGNITION OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY'S RENEWED STATUS AS A STORMREADY COUNTY

Present: Bob Kelly, Director, Dept. of Public Safety and Information Technology Gerald Gardiner, Emergency Management Manager, Dept of Public Safety and Information Technology

The Commissioners presented a certificate to Mr. Kelly from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) that renewed St. Mary's County's status as a StormReady county. Mr. Kelly read a letter from the National Weather Service that specifically commended Mr. Gardiner on his initiatives to train citizens and government agency workers and maintaining strong ties with the National Weather Service.

COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

- 1. Draft Agendas for March 27 and April 10. There will be no meeting on April 3, 2012.
- **2. Department of Aging and Human Services** (Cynthia Brown, Division Head, Human Services; Kelsey Bush, LMB and Youth Coordinator)

Commissioner Jarboe moved, seconded by Commissioner Morgan to authorize the County Local Management Board Chair and Department Staff to execute the FY2012 Community Partnership Agreement and Appendices A & B and to approve and authorize Commissioner President Russell to execute the FY2012 Community Partnership Agreement, Project #s MD1260, MD1261, MD1265, MD1266, MD1267 and MD1288, from the Governor's Office for Children in the amount of \$408,582 and to also execute the related budget amendment and Sub-recipient Agreements between the County Government and Tri-County Youth Services Bureau, St. Mary's County Public Schools and Walden-Sierra. Motion carried 5-0.

3. Department of Public Safety and Information Technology (Bob Kelly, Director)

Integrated Public Alert and Warning System (IPAWS)

Commissioner Jones requested Mr. Kelly provide Appendix C and additional information on the Interconnection Security Agreement prior to Commissioners making a decision on IPAWS.

Commissioner Morris moved, seconded by Commissioner Jones, to table the decision on IPAWS Memorandum of Agreement until Mr. Kelly provides additional information as requested. Motion carried 5-0.

4. Sheriff's Office (Captain Willenborg, Erin K. Shoemaker, Fiscal Manager)

Commissioner Morris moved, seconded by Commissioner Morgan, to authorize the Sheriff's Office Staff to submit the grant application documents electronically for 2012 COPS Hiring Program, US13XX, from the Bureau of Justice in the amount of \$243,843 with the hard copy to be submitted for review at the award stage. Motion carried 5-0.

5. Department of Public Works and Transportation (George Erichsen, Director)

Commissioner Morris moved, seconded by Commissioner Jones, to approve and authorize Commissioner President Russell to execute the signage, lighting, and landscaping License Agreement between the County and Woods at Myrtle Point Homeowners' Association on behalf of the Department of Public Works and Transportation. Motion carried 5-0.

(Jacqueline Fournier, Transportation Manager; Mary Ann Coontz, STS Supervisor, Dept. Public Works and Transportation)

Commissioner Jones moved, seconded by Commissioner Jarboe, to approve and authorize Commissioner President Russell to execute the Job Access Reverse Commute Inter-Governmental Agreements I, II, and III, Project #s US1372, US1373 and MD1376 with the Maryland State Department of Human Resources and Department of Social Services in the amount of \$20,000, \$20,000, and \$40,000, respectively, and the Certification of Lobbying. Motion carried 5-0.

6. County Attorney (George Sparling, County Attorney)

(George Erichsen, Director, Dept. Public Works and Transportation)
Commissioner Morris moved, seconded by Commissioner Morgan, to approve and authorize Commissioner President Russell to execute the Annexation Agreement with the Town of Leonardtown and the Board of Education of St. Mary's County. Motion carried 5-0.

7. Department of Land Use and Growth Management (Phil Shire, Director)

Commissioner Jones moved, seconded by Commissioner Morris, to approve and accept the FY2013 Critical Area Grant application, project MD1327, from Maryland Department of Natural Resources (Critical Area Commission) on behalf of the Department of Land Use and Growth Management in the amount of \$11,000 for reimbursement of a portion of the salaries of county staff who perform review of Critical Area permits and development applications. Motion carried 5-0.

RETIRED SENIOR VOLUNTEER PROGRAM (RSVP) VOLUNTEER RECOGNITION LUNCHEON AND AWARDS CEREMONY

The Board of County Commissioners departed the Chesapeake Building to attend the RSVP event at the Dr. James A. Forrest Career and Technology Center in Leonardtown and then returned to the Chesapeake Building meeting room.

CALL FOR MOTION TO ENTER INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION

Commissioner Morgan moved, seconded by Commissioner Jones, to enter into Executive Session for the purpose of discussing litigation matter. Motion carried 5-0.

COMMISSIONER'S TIME

The Commissioners highlighted events attended over the past week as well as personal interest items.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Litigation

Present: Commissioner Francis Jack Russell, President

Commissioner Lawrence D. Jarboe Commissioner Cynthia L. Jones Commissioner Daniel L. Morris Commissioner Todd B. Morgan John Savich, County Administrator George Sparling, County Attorney

Emily A. Daneker, Lead Counsel, Whiteford Taylor & Preston LLP

Donna Gebicke, Administrative Assistant

Authority: Article 24, Section 4-210(a)8

Time Held: 1:25 pm - 1:50 pm

Subject Discussed: Litigation

ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Russell closed the Board of County Commissioners meeting at approximately 1:50 pn
Minutes Approved by the Board of County Commissioners on
Sharon Ferris, Senior Administrative Coordinator (Recorder)