Commissioners of St. Mary's County Meeting Minutes (Tuesday, April 10, 2018)

Generated by Bonnie Gray on Wednesday, April 11, 2018

1. JOINT MEETING OF THE COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY AND THE COMMANDING OFFICER, NAS, PATUXENT RIVER - Encroachment Mitigation

and Prevention Meeting, Frank Knox Bldg., Bldg. 2189 (just past Gate 2 entrance on Rt. 235, Lexington Park)

Members present

Commissioner President James R. Guy Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt Commissioner Tom Jarboe Commissioner Todd B. Morgan Commissioner John E. O'Connor Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator Chris Kaselemis, Director, Department of Economic Development John Deatrick, Director, Department of Public Works & Transportation Bill Hunt, Director, Department of Land Use & Growth Management Arthur Shepherd, Director, Department of Recreation and Parks Gretchen Hardman, Southern Maryland Intergovernmental Representative, Office of the Governor Scott Anderson, Acting Chairman, St. Mary's County Transit System, Transportation Advisory Committee

CAPT. Jason Hammond, Commanding Officer, Naval Air Station, Patuxent River Sabrina Hecht, AICP, Community Planning Liaison Office, Naval Air Station, Patuxent River CDR Joel Castillo, Airspace Office, Air Traffic Controller

The Commissioners met with the Commanding Officer and representatives of NAS Patuxent River at 9:00 a.m. in the Frank Knox Employment Development Center, NAS, Patuxent River for the semi-annual Encroachment Mitigation and Prevention Joint Meeting.

Topics covered at the meeting included: Transportation/Traffic Issues; AICUZ in the LPDDMP; Incubator Update; UAS Procedures; Air Show Plans; New Chesapeake Bay Bridge Study; and, Letter of Agreement regarding Use of Restricted Airspace.

I move to approve the Letter of Agreement between the Commanding Officer, Naval Air Station Patuxent River and the Commissioners of St. Mary's County regarding coordinating use of restricted airspace (R-4007).

Motion by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, second by Commissioner Tom Jarboe. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

2. ADJOURN - Return to Chesapeake Building, Leonardtown

3. WELCOME - Chesapeake Building, 41770 Baldridge Street, Leonardtown

Members present

Commissioner President James R. Guy Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt Commissioner Tom Jarboe Commissioner Todd B. Morgan Commissioner John E. O'Connor Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator Bonnie Gray, Recorder

Commissioner President Guy called the business meeting of the Commissioners of St. Mary's County to order at 11:07 a.m. in the Chesapeake Building Meeting Room, Governmental Center.

Approval of Consent Agenda

I move to approve the Consent Agenda which includes the Minutes of April 3, 2018, as presented.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

4. PROCLAMATION(S)

Proclamations were presented for the following:

- 1. National Child Abuse Prevention Month
- 2. Equal Pay Day

5. LEGISLATIVE UPDATES

A. OFFICE OF THE COUNTY ATTORNEY - Legislative Updates

Present: David Weiskopf, Acting County Attorney

Mr. Weiskopf advised that HB0110 - Inmate Release Programs passed. He noted that the Governor signed SB 1265 - Maryland Safe to Learn Act of 2018 and provided details on the initiatives and the implement timeline.

6. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

A. DRAFT AGENDAS FOR APRIL 16, 17 AND 24, 2018.

B. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS AND TRANSPORTATION - Christmas in April 2018

I move to adopt the Resolution waiving the landfill fees for Christmas in April projects associated with the annual program scheduled for Saturday, April 28, 2018.

Motion by Commissioner Tom Jarboe, second by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

C. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS AND TRANSPORTATION - MEMA

Memorandum of Agreement - House Elevation Project

I move to approve the Memorandum of Agreement with the Maryland Emergency Management Agency for the Hazard Mitigation Grant to elevate the residence at 18103 River Road, in Tall Timbers, MD and the Hold Harmless Agreement between the County, the homeowners and any associated contractor to perform work on this project, and the associated budget amendment establishing a new project, US1890, in the amount of \$146,750 and authorize the Commissioner President to sign the related documents.

Motion by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, second by Commissioner John E. O'Connor. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

D. DEPARTMENT OF AGING & HUMAN SERVICES - FY2019 Senior Rides Program Grant Application

I move to approve the Senior Rides Program grant application, project MD1905, from the Maryland Department of Transportation, Maryland Transit Administration on behalf of the St. Mary's County Department of Aging & Human Services in the amount of \$38,326 and authorize the Commissioner President to execute the related documents.

Motion by Commissioner Tom Jarboe, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

7. COMMISSIONERS' TIME

The Commissioners highlighted events attended over the past week and provided general comments.

MOTION TO ENTER INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION

I move to enter into Executive Session for the purpose of discussing personnel.

Motion by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, second by Commissioner Tom Jarboe. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

8. EXECUTIVE SESSION

A. HUMAN RESOURCES - Personnel

PERSONNEL

Present: James R. Guy, President Tom Jarboe, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, Commissioner John E. O'Connor, Commissioner Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator Catherine Pratson, Director, Human Resources David Weiskopf, Acting County Attorney Matthew Peter, Local Government Trust (12:14 p.m. - 12:31 p.m.) Sharon Ferris, Recorder

Authority: §9-512(a)(1) of the *Local Government* Article of the <u>Annotated Code of Maryland</u> Time Held: <u>12:14 p.m. to 12:48 p.m.</u> Location: John Savich Meeting Room Purpose: To discuss personnel issues.

9. ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 12:48 p.m.

Minutes approved by the Commissioners of St. Mary's County on April 17, 2018.

BG______BG____BG_____BG____BG____BG____BG____BG____BG____BG____BG____BG____BG____BG____BG____BG____BG__BG_

10. PUBLIC FORUM

Members Present

Commissioner President James R. Guy Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt Commissioner Tom Jarboe Commissioner Todd B. Morgan Commissioner John E. O'Connor (via teleconference) Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator Tony Jones, Public Information Officer Bonnie Gray, Recorder

Commissioner President Guy opened the Public Forum at 6:32 p.m. Tony Jones, Public Information Officer, provided the format for the meeting and called on the first speaker.

Public comments given by:

Becky Piacente, 16431 Point Lookout Road, Lexington Park, MD 20653 Ronald Verbos, 18792 McKay's Beach Road, Leonardtown, MD 20650 Kimberly Dennis, 45698 Nicholas Ct., Great Mills, MD 20634 Delores Jones, 3851 Pine Cone Cir., Waldorf, MD 20602 Tamathea Hayward, 45571 Knockeyon La., Great Mills, MD 20634 Jennifer Berman, 42785 Remington Ct., Hollywood, MD 20636

Commissioner President Guy closed the public forum at 7:03 p.m.