Commissioners of St. Mary's County Meeting Minutes (Tuesday, April 25, 2017)

Generated by Sharon Ferris on Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Members present

Commissioner President James R. Guy Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt Commissioner Tom Jarboe Commissioner Todd B. Morgan Commissioner John E. O'Connor Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator Sharon Ferris, Recorder

1. RECEPTION - PEOPLE'S CHOICE AWARD RECIPIENTS

Prior to the start of their regular business meeting, the Commissioners hosted a reception in the Chesapeake Building Lobby for employees receiving the People's Choice Award.

2. WELCOME

Commissioner President Guy called the business meeting of the Commissioners of St. Mary's County to order at 9:00 am in the Chesapeake Building meeting room, Governmental Center.

Approval of Consent Agenda

I move to approve the Consent Agenda, which includes the minutes from the April 18, 2017 meeting, as presented.

Motion by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, second by Commissioner Tom Jarboe.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

3. PROCLAMATIONS

Proclamations were presented for Respect Week and Week of the Young Child.

4. PEOPLE'S CHOICE AWARDS

The following individuals were selected by their peers to receive the People's Choice Award: Pete Cucinotta, Circuit Court; Denise Cargill, County Administration; Helen Hunter, Dept. of Aging and Human Services; Mark Dotson, Dept. of Public Works and Transportation; Ronald Ratliff, Dept. of Public Works and Transportation; Lisa Bodnar, Dept. of Public Works and Transportation; Robin Finnacom, Dept. of Economic Development; Rocky Binger, Dept. of

Emergency Services and Technology; Karla Mooney, Dept. of Emergency Services and Technology; Margaret Bowling, Dept. of Finance; Amy Aud, Dept. of Finance; Patty Steigman, Dept. of Finance; Becky Trossbach, Dept. of Finance; Diane Gleissner, Legal Dept.; Sheila Smith, Dept. of Land Use and Growth Management; Grace Brady, Dept. of Land Use and Growth Management; Anthony Hardesty, Dept. of Recreation and Parks; James Stone, Office of the Sheriff; Jeff McLane, Office of the Sheriff; Rhonda Wathen, Office of the Sheriff.

5. MAIN AGENDA ACTION ITEMS

A. DEPT. OF FINANCE - Decision on Request to Amend Chapter 223 of the Code of St. Mary's County, Maryland, to Repeal and Re-Enact Provisions for a Development Impact Fee

Present: Jeannette Cudmore, Chief Financial Officer Patty Steigman, Deputy Director

A public hearing was held April 4, 2017. Approximately 100 citizens attended with 19 speakers representing individuals and/or groups providing testimony. Correspondence was received from 20 citizens, 15 organizations and a petition containing 125 signatures during the 7 day open comment period. Comments received indicated that citizens believe an increase is necessary.

Motion # 1: I move to direct staff to conduct a focus group made up of stake holders and other personnel led by Jeannette Cudmore to study Chapter 223 and make changes (without a consultant) and report back to the Commissioners by 1 December 2017.

Motion by Commissioner President James R. Guy, second by Commissioner John E. O'Connor. Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

Motion # 2: I move to authorize the Department of Finance to solicit support services for the Impact Fee Study to assist the Department and their focus group.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

Motion # 3: I move to increase the impact fee by \$1,000 this year and set the impact fee at \$5,500 in FY2018.

Motion by Commissioner Tom Jarboe, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan

Nay: Commissioners Guy, O'Connor

B. DEPT. OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT - Request for Public Hearing on the Rogers Drive Extended Community Development Block Grant Project

Present: Chris Kaselemis, Director

Robin Finnacom, Deputy Director

Vicki Volk, Executive Director, St. Mary's Community Development Corporation

The St. Mary's Community Development Corporation (CDC) is requesting use of Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Funds to construct a road between Rodgers Avenue and Willows Road. Use of CDBG funds will require two public hearings. The relationship between the County and the CDC was explained along with examples of the type of assistance the CDC can provide to the County.

I move to authorize the Department of Economic Development to schedule a public hearing pertaining to the Rogers Drive Extended Community Development Block Grant project.

Motion by Commissioner Tom Jarboe, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

6. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

A. DRAFT AGENDAS FOR MAY 2 & 9, 2017.

B. DEPT. OF LAND USE AND GROWTH MANAGEMENT - Focus group to consider an exemption to the building code for accessory, detached sheds up to 600 square feet

I move to authorize the Department of Land Use and Growth Management to invite stakeholders to discuss an exemption to the St. Mary's County building code for accessory detached sheds up to 600 square feet in area.

Motion by Commissioner Tom Jarboe, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

C. DEPT. OF FINANCE - Budget Amendment to close out various BOE CIP Projects

I move to approve and authorize the Commissioner President to execute the related Budget Amendment closing various BOE CIP projects increasing the FIN17 Capital Reserve by \$209,004.

Motion by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, second by Commissioner John E. O'Connor.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

D. DEPT. OF FINANCE - Budget Amendment for FY2017 Snow Season

I move to approve realigning budget allocation to cover costs related to the FY2017 Snow Season for overtime and snow removal expenses for the amount of \$341,967 and authorize the Commissioner President to sign budget amendment.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

E. DEPT. OF RECREATION & PARKS - Snow Hill Plan of Action & Lease Agreement

MOTION #1: I move to approve the Plan of Action for Snow Hill Farm.

ITEM WAS TABLED

MOTION #2: I move to approve the Lease Agreement between the Commissioners of St. Mary's County and Jeffrey Raley, Sr. and Jeffrey Raley, Jr. for agriculture use of Snow Hill Farm pending verification the lease is the same as 2016.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

7. COMMISSIONERS' TIME

The Commissioners highlighted events attended over the past week and provided general comments.

8. ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 11:15 am.	
Minutes Approved by the Commissioners of St. Mary's County on _	_5/2/17
SLF	
Sharon Ferris Senior Administrative Coordinator	