Commissioners of St. Mary's County Meeting Minutes (Tuesday, May 3, 2016)

Generated by Sharon Ferris on Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Members present

Commissioner President James R. Guy Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt Commissioner Tom Jarboe Commissioner Todd B. Morgan Commissioner John E. O'Connor Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator Sharon Ferris, Recorder

1. WELCOME

Commissioner President Guy opened the business meeting of the Commissioners of St. Mary's County to order at 9:00 am in the Chesapeake Building meeting room, Governmental Center.

Approval of Minutes

I move to approve the minutes of April 19, 2016 as presented.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

2. PROCLAMATION

Proclamations were presented for:

- A. NATIONAL DRUG COURT MONTH
- B. OLDER AMERICANS MONTH
- C. MENTAL HEALTH AWARENESS MONTH
- D. SMALL BUSINESS MONTH

3. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

A. DRAFT AGENDAS FOR MAY 10 & 17, 2016

B. BOARD OF EDUCATION - Comprehensive School Physical Activity Program Implementation Grant

I move to authorize St. Mary's County Public Schools to accept and execute the Comprehensive School Physical Activity Program Implementation Grant from the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene in the amount of \$10,000; and authorize the Commissioners to execute the letter signifying this action.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

C. BOARD OF EDUCATION - Chesapeake Public Charter School Categorical Transfer

I move to approve the request for an FY2016 Categorical Transfer for the Chesapeake Public Charter School in the amount of \$68,125, and authorize the Commissioners to execute the letter signifying this action.

Motion by Commissioner Tom Jarboe, second by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

D. SHERIFF'S OFFICE - Bullet Proof Vest Partnership Application US1716

I move to approve the grant application for the Bullet Proof Vest Partnership, project US1716, from the Department of Justice, in the amount of \$23,527, for partial reimbursement of bullet proof vests, and authorize the Sheriff's Office to submit electronically, consistent with the document reviewed by the Commissioners of St. Mary's County.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Tom Jarboe.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

E. DEPT. OF PUBLIC WORKS & TRANSPORTATION - St. Mary's County Regional Airport: Navy Annapolis Flight Center Lease

I move to approve the Lease for Occupation of Spaces at St. Mary's Regional Airport between the Commissioners of St. Mary's County and the Navy Annapolis Flight Center and authorize the Commissioner President and George Erichsen under his administrative authority to execute related documents.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

F. DEPT. OF AGING & HUMAN SERVICES FY2016 - Revised Notification of Grant Award (NGA) for State to include Supplemental Funding for Nutrition

I move to approve the FY2016 Revised NGA for State, projects MD1601,1602,1604,1606 and MD1614, from the Maryland Department of Aging on behalf of the St. Mary's County Department of Aging and Human Services for programs and services for the seniors of St. Mary's County in the amount of \$84,018, and the related budget amendment that includes

increasing the Nutrition grant funds by \$2,025 and authorize the Commissioner President to execute the related documents.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Tom Jarboe.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

G. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR - Approve Employment Contract

I move to authorize the Commissioner President to sign the revised employment contract for George Sparling, County Attorney.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

H. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR - Agreement

I move to authorize the Commissioner President to execute the budget amendment and Agreement in Case No. 846-2013-40582.

Motion by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, second by Commissioner Tom Jarboe.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

I. DEPT. OF EMERGENCY SERVICES & TECHNOLOGY - 311 GIS Online Application

Presenters: Robert Kelly, Director, Dept. of Emergency Services & Technology George Erichsen, Director, Dept. of Public Works & Transportation

The 311GIS is an online application which makes it easier for citizens to submit non-emergency requests about problems, issues or concerns in the community. Citizens can access the application by I-Phone, Android and PC and the requests are routed directly to the department representative assigned to respond. Departments currently active are Public Works & Transportation, Recreation and Parks, and Land Use and Growth Management.

4. COMMISSIONER'S TIME

The Commissioners highlighted events attended over the past week and provided general comments.

5. ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 10:55 am.

Minutes Approved by the Commissioners of St. Mary's County on _	5/17/16	
SLF		
Sharon Ferris, Senior Administrative Coordinator		

6. LUNCH

7. BUDGET WORK SESSION

The Commissioners conducted a Budget Work Session to follow-up from the Budget Public Hearing held on April 19, 2016.

8. ADJOURN

9. PUBLIC FORUM

Commissioner President Guy opened the Public Forum at 6:30 pm.

Following opening remarks Commissioner Guy opened the public forum for public comments.

Public comments given by:

Billy Breslin, California, MD 20619 Kristie Mattingly, Leonardtown, MD 20650 Sean Sayers, Point Lookout, MD Tim, Dean, Ridge MD 20680 Ellizabeth Yokley, 22085 Clipper Dr., Great Mills, MD 20634 Mary Dyden, 22322 Cedar St., Leonardtown, MD 20650 Rick Carroll, 22317 Cedar St, Leonardtown, MD 20650 Steve Wolfe, Compton, MD 20627

There were no others wishing to speak so Commissioner Guy closed the public forum at 7:00 pm.