Commissioners of St. Mary's County Meeting Minutes (Tuesday, May 9, 2017)

Generated by Sharon Ferris on Tuesday, May 9, 2017

1. JOINT MEETING COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY AND ST. MARY'S COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

Members present

Commissioner President James R Guy Commissioner Michael L Hewitt Commissioner Tom Jarboe Commissioner Todd B Morgan

Commissioner John E O'Connor Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator

Board of Education

Ms. Karen Bailey, Chairwoman (District 3)

Ms. Mary Washington, Vice Chairwoman (District 4)

Ms. Cathy Allen (Member at Large)

Mr. James Davis (District 2)

Ms. Rita Weaver (District 1)

Mr. J. Scott Smith, Secretary/Treasurer

Presenters

Denise Mandis, Supervisor, St. Mary's County Public Schools Jeff Walker, Asst. Superintendent of Schools Catherine Pratson, Director, SMC Dept. of Human Resources Lisa Bachner, Director, St. Mary's County Public Schools Scott Smith, Superintendent, St. Mary's County Public Schools

Commissioner President Guy opened the joint meeting of the St. Mary's County Commissioners and the St. Mary's County Board of Education at 9:03 am. Following opening remarks and introduction the following presentations were provided: Academy Highlights (Denise Mandis); Capital Improvement Projects (Jeff Walker); Maryland Fire & Rescue institute (Catherine Pratson and Lisa Bachner); and Legislation (Scott Smith).

2. ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 10:25 am.	
Minutes Approved by the Commissioners of St. Mary's County on5/16/17	_
SLF	
Sharon Ferris, Senior Administrative Coordinator	

3. LAW ENFORCEMENT APPRECIATION DAY

The Commissioners attended the Law Enforcement Appreciation Day Luncheon held at the Southern Maryland Higher Education Center.

4. BUDGET WORK SESSION

A. DEPT. OF FINANCE - FY2018 Budget Work Session

The Budget Work Session was held to Follow-up and Finalize the FY2018 Operating and Capital Budget.

5. ADJOURN