# Commissioners of St. Mary's County Meeting Minutes (Tuesday, June 6, 2017)

Generated by Sharon Ferris on Tuesday, June 6, 2017

#### **Members present**

Commissioner President James R. Guy Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt Commissioner Tom Jarboe Commissioner Todd B. Morgan Commissioner John E. O'Connor Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator Sharon Ferris, Recorder

# 1. WELCOME

Commissioner President Guy called the business meeting of the Commissioners of St. Mary's County to order at 9:00 am in the Chesapeake Building meeting room, Governmental Center.

## **Approval of Consent Agenda**

I move to approve the consent agenda, which includes the minutes of May 23, 2017, as presented.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

# 2. RECOGNITION

A Proclamation was presented to Louis Mileto on the occasion of his retirement from the St. Mary's County Sheriff's Office, Corrections Division.

# **3. PRESENTATIONS**

# A. MARYLAND ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES (MACo)

**Present:** Michael Sanderson, MACo Executive Director Kevin Kaminetz, MACo President & Baltimore County Executive

MACo is a non-profit and non-partisan organization that represents all 24 county jurisdictions in Maryland by expressing the needs of local government to the Maryland General Assembly. During this past legislative session, counties were protected from cost shifts and expansive legislation; secured new funding for transportation; won a stronger county voice in energy zoning; and gained better tools to revitalize communities. The MACo Summer Conference will focus on job growth and the economy.

# B. ST. MARY'S COUNTY BOARD OF HEALTH

**Present:** Dr. Meenakshi Brewster, Health Officer Dr. Stephen Michaels, Co-Chair, Healthy St. Mary's Partnership Heather Moritz, LEHS, Deputy Director, Environmental Health Division

The Board of Health presentation included discussions on health topics such as prevention strategies for the Opioids crisis and the Zika virus. Updates were provided on the preparation for the transition of Behavioral Health from the Dept. of Human Services to the Health Department; environmental health; and policy items from the 2017 general assembly session. A business case for a tobacco free environment was also provided.

# 4. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

# A. DRAFT AGENDAS FOR JUNE 13 AND 20, 2017

**B. DEPT. OF PUBLIC WORKS AND TRANSPORTATION -** Patuxent River Naval Air Museum Association Lease Renewal

I move to approve and authorize the Commissioner President to execute the Lease Agreement between the Commissioners of St. Mary's County and the Patuxent River Naval Air Museum Association, Inc.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

**C. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR** - Commissioner Task Force Appointments for Amendments to the Code of St. Mary's County Chapter 113: Sanitary Districts

I move to appoint the following two Commissioners: (1) Tom Jarboe & (2) Mike Hewitt to serve on the Code of St. Mary's County Chapter 113: Sanitary Districts Task Force.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

**D. DEPT. OF HUMAN RESOURCES** - Award Recommendation for Life, Long Term Disability and Accidental Death & Dismemberment Insurance Coverage

This item was tabled.

## 5. COMMISSIONERS' TIME

The Commissioners congratulated all of the 2017 High School Graduates, highlighted events attended over the past week, and provided general comments.

# 6. EXECUTIVE SESSION

# MOTION TO ENTER INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION

I move to enter into Executive Session for the purpose of discussing personnel issues.

Motion by Commissioner Tom Jarboe, second by Commissioner John E. O'Connor. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

## A. DEPT. OF HUMAN RESOURCES - PERSONNEL

#### PRESENT:

James R. Guy, President Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Tom Jarboe, Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, Commissioner John E. O'Connor, Commissioner Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator Catherine Pratson, Director, Human Resources Christine Fleming, Recorder

Authority: §9-512(a)(1) of the *Local Government* Article of the <u>Annotated Code of Maryland</u> Time Held: <u>11:53 am - 12:00 pm</u> Purpose: To discuss personnel issues.

### **B. PERSONNEL**

#### PRESENT:

James R. Guy, President Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Tom Jarboe, Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, Commissioner John E. O'Connor, Commissioner Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator Christine Fleming, Recorder

Authority: §9-512(a)(1) of the *Local Government* Article of the <u>Annotated Code of Maryland</u> Time Held: <u>12:01 pm - 12:05pm</u> Purpose: To discuss personnel issues.

# **C. PERSONNEL**

#### PRESENT:

James R. Guy, President Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Tom Jarboe, Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, Commissioner John E. O'Connor, Commissioner

Authority: §9-512(a)(1) of the *Local Government* Article of the <u>Annotated Code of Maryland</u> Time Held: <u>12:05 pm - 12:18 pm</u> Purpose: To discuss personnel issues.

### 7. ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at approximately 12:20 pm.

Minutes Approved by the Commissioners of St. Mary's County on <u>6/13/17</u>

<u>SLF</u> Sharon Ferris, Senior Administrative Coordinator