# ST. MARY'S COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS' MEETING Tuesday, June 10, 2014

**Present:** Commissioner President Francis Jack Russell

Commissioner Lawrence D. Jarboe Commissioner Todd B. Morgan Commissioner Cynthia L. Jones Commissioner Daniel L. Morris

County Administrator, Dr. Rebecca Bridgett

Sharon Ferris (Recorder)

#### CALL TO ORDER

Commissioner President Russell called the business meeting of the Board of County Commissioners to order at 9:00 am in the Chesapeake Building meeting room, Governmental Center.

## APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Commissioner Jarboe moved, seconded by Commissioner Morgan, to approve the minutes of June 3, 2014, as presented. Motion carried 5-0.

## PROCLAMATION WAS PRESENTED FOR NATIONAL NURSING ASSISTANTS WEEK

# COMMENDATIONS: PAXTUXENT RIVER RAIDERS CHEER ORGANIZATION

The following members of the 10 U Star Brights Patuxent River Raiders Cheer Organization were presented Commendations for their accomplishments and invitation to FINALE, a two-day, national competition in Tennessee.

**Coaches:** Nichole Moneymaker (Head Coach), Lynda Schmitz, Rebecca Lyon Kristin Greene (Jr Coach)

**Squad Members:** Elise Bankins, Deja Downes, Danajah Chase, Jaxson Clarke Ahmaya Cuchember, Abigail Donaldson, Tiana (TT) Martin, Mackenzie Moneymaker, Katie O'Toole, Lillie Parrish, Taylor Parrish, Corrine (Rinny) Potthast, Kayla Potthast, Paige Ransom, Cydnee (Cyd) Root, Justyce Skudlarek-Stewart, Stephanie Scherer Tishauna Stevenson, Kevona, Woodland, Kyia Young and Landon Zernhelt

## **COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR**

- 1. Draft Agendas for June 17, 2014. There will be no meeting June 24, 2014.
- **2. Department of Aging and Human Services** (Lori Jennings-Harris, Director; Alice Allen, Manager Senior Operations; Peggy Maio, Fiscal Supervisor)

Commissioner Morris moved, seconded by Commissioner Jarboe, to approve and authorize Commissioner President Russell to execute:

- (1) the Revised Notification of Grant Award in the amount of \$46,244 for the FY2014 Nutrition Service Incentive Program Grant Award, Project US1406, from the Maryland Department of Aging on behalf of the St. Mary's County Department of Aging and Human Services to provide meals to our seniors; and,
- (2) the related budget amendment to increase the project budget by \$7,082 based on the Grant Award. Motion carried 5-0.
- **3. Department of Economic and Community Development** (Robin Finnacom, Acting Director)

(Bill Hitte, Acting Director, Small Business & Technology Development Center (SBTDC); Dan Mosser, VP, College of Southern Maryland; Ellen Flowers-Fields, Regional Director, Southern Region SBTDC)

Commissioner Jones moved, seconded by Commissioner Morgan, to approve and authorize Commissioner President Russell to execute the Memorandum of Understanding between the County and the College of Southern Maryland on behalf of the Department of Economic and Community Development to continue the services provided by the Small Business & Technology Development Center in the amount of \$22,000 which is consistent with the FY2015 approved budget. Motion carried 5-0.

#### DEPT. OF LAND USE AND GROWTH MANAGEMENT

1. Annual Report on School Capacity

**Present:** Phil Shire, Director, Dept. of Land Use and Growth Management

Dave Chapman, Planner II, Dept. of Land Use and Growth Management

Kimberly Howe, Coordinating Supervisor of Capital Planning & Green Schools,

**SMCPS** 

Brad Clements, Deputy Superintendent of Schools and Operations, SMCPS

Mr. Chapman presented the Annual Report on School Capacity based on the 2013-14 school enrollment provided by the St. Mary's County Public Schools. Charts depicting the State rated capacity that is assigned to each educational facility in Maryland versus current enrollment were provided. An additional chart showing "Available Building Capacity" was provided by

BOCC Meeting of June 10, 2014 Page 3 of 4

Ms. Howe during the presentation. School capacity (adequate public facilities) is a major factor when new residential areas are approved. For the purpose of this report, the County is divided into two service areas using Rt. 4 as the dividing point for the Northern Service Area and the Southern Service Area. The report indicated that project approvals for residential development will not be restricted by the availability of school seats.

Commissioner Jones moved, seconded by Commissioner Jarboe, to accept the SY 2013-14 Report on School Facilities and direct that the capacities therein be used to verify the adequacy of public schools to accommodate residential impacts as required by Chapter 70, Adequate Public Facilities, of the Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance. Motion carried 4-1. Commissioner Morgan was out of the room for the vote.

# 2. Annual Growth Policy

**Present:** Phil Shire, Director, Dept. of Land Use and Growth Management Dave Chapman, Planner II, Dept. of Land Use and Growth Management

The Annual Growth Policy was established in 2008 when the economy was prosperous as a tool to set caps to guide growth in the County. The cap applies to the approval of new residential lots (subdivisions) or dwelling units (apartments), not building permits. Originally established at 1.9% of annual increase in dwelling units and continued each year through 2014, it is recommended that the 1.9% be adopted for 2015.

Commissioner Morgan moved, seconded by Commissioner Morris, to accept the recommendations of the Planning Commission and the Department of Land Use and Growth Management and that the terms and rates of the Annual Growth Policy as adopted on August 19, 2008, and continued in Fiscal Years 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2014 be carried forward in FY 2015, also recognizing that regulations and policies driving the provision of adequate public facilities must be reviewed. Motion carried 5-0.

## **COMMISSIONER'S TIME**

The Commissioners highlighted events of the past week and future items.

## MOTION TO ENTER INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION

Commissioner Jones moved, seconded by Commissioner Morgan, to enter into Executive Session for the purpose of discussing personnel matters, specifically boards and committees. Motion carried 4-1. Commissioner Jarboe voted nay.

BOCC Meeting of June 10, 2014 Page 4 of 4

## **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Personnel
-----------

Present: Commissioner Francis Jack Russell, President

Commissioner Lawrence D. Jarboe Commissioner Cynthia L. Jones Commissioner Daniel L. Morris Commissioner Todd B. Morgan

Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator Diane Gleissner, Boards and Committees Admin.

Donna Gebicke, Administrative Assistant

Authority: Article 24, Section 4-21(a)1

Time Held: 10:27 am - 10:49 am

Subject: Personnel (Boards and Commissions)

The meeting adjourned at approximately 10:50 am.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Minutes Approved by the Board of County Commissioners on	

Sharon Ferris, Senior Administrative Coordinator (Recorder)