# Commissioners of St. Mary's County Meeting Minutes (Tuesday, October 18, 2016)

Generated by Sharon Ferris on Tuesday, October 18, 2016

### **Members present**

Commissioner President James R. Guy Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt Commissioner Tom Jarboe Commissioner Todd B. Morgan Commissioner John E. O'Connor Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator Sharon Ferris, Recorder

## 1. WELCOME

Commissioner President Guy called the business meeting of the Commissioners of St. Mary's County to order at 9:00 am in the Chesapeake Building meeting room, Governmental Center.

# **Approval of Minutes**

I move to approve the minutes of October 4, 2016 as presented.

Motion by Commissioner Tom Jarboe, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

### **Approval of Consent Agenda**

I move to approve the consent agenda as presented.

Motion by Commissioner Tom Jarboe, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

### 2. PROCLAMATIONS

The following Proclamations were presented:

- A. SOUTHERN MARYLAND ELITE BASEBALL TEAM
- B. NATIONAL DISABILITY EMPLOYMENT AWARENESS MONTH

### 3. MAIN AGENDA ACTION ITEMS

**A. DEPT. OF FINANCE** - Briefing on Tax-Property Article Section 9-258

Present: Jeannette Cudmore, Chief Financial Officer

Patty Stiegman, Deputy

Ms. Cudmore provided an overview of Tax-Property Article Section 9-258 (HB898), explained the two senior tax credits we currently have in the County, the benefits to the citizens with those tax breaks and the impact on the County property tax revenue if the Commission decides to adopt the new proposed tax.

# B. DEPT. OF FINANCE - Maryland Homestead Tax Credit

**Present:** Jeannette Cudmore, Chief Financial Officer Patty Stiegman, Deputy

The Homestead Tax Credit is in place to control the growth of the assessments on citizen's primary residence. St. Mary's County's percentage is currently 5% with range of credits in the state from 0% to 10%. Each year the County has the opportunity to change the Homestead Credit percentage for the upcoming fiscal year. Ms. Cudmore explained the financial impact on the County if the current percentage is changed.

I move that we move forward with a Public Hearing on the County Homestead Tax Credit.

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner John E. O'Connor.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

### 4. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

## A. DRAFT AGENDAS FOR OCTOBER 25 AND NOVEMBER 1, 2016.

# B. DEPT. OF HUMAN RESOURCES - Approval of LGIT Training Grant

I move to approve the Local Government Insurance Trust (LGIT) training grant award, project #OT1707, on behalf of the Department of Human Resources to cover the training for approximately sixty (60) Department of Public Works & Transportation and Department of Recreation and Parks employees to attend the on-site Energy Isolation Lockout-Tagout training in the amount of \$1,900; and the related budget amendment to establish budget authority and increase the project budget by \$1,900 and authorize the Commissioner President to execute the related documents.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

### C. DEPT. OF HUMAN RESOURCES - FLSA Position Correction

In order to maintain an exempt classification status and remain in compliance with FLSA overtime regulations, I move to increase the annual salary of the Supervisor I - Station Clerk Supervisor in the Sheriff's Office to \$47,476 effective December 1, 2016."

Motion by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, second by Commissioner Tom Jarboe.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

### 5. COMMISSIONER'S TIME

The Commissioners highlighted events attended over the past week and provided general comments.

## 6. EXECUTIVE SESSION

I move to enter into Executive Session for the purpose of discussing Personnel.

Motion by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, second by Commissioner John E. O'Connor.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

#### A. PERSONNEL

#### Present:

James R. Guy, President

Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner

Tom Jarboe, Commissioner

Todd M. Morgan, Commissioner

John E. O'Connor, Commissioner

Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator

Christine Fleming, Recorder

Authority: §9-512(a)(1) of the Local Government Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland

Time Held: 10:32 am - 11:00 am Purpose: To discuss personnel issues

### 7. ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 11:00 am.

Minutes Approved by the Commissioners of St. Mary's County on 10/25/16 SLF

Sharon Ferris, Senior Administrative Coordinator

### 8. PRESENTATION

# Maryland Dept. of Transportation-Consolidated Transportation Program (CTP) Tour 2016

Commissioner President Guy opened the meeting at 1:35 pm in the Chesapeake Building meeting room, Governmental Center.

### **Present:**

Commissioner President James R. Guy Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt Commissioner Tom Jarboe Commissioner Todd B. Morgan Commissioner John E. O'Connor Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator Sharon Ferris, Recorder

### **MDOT Representatives**

James Ports, Jr., Deputy Transportation Secretary Gregg Johnson, Administrator, State Highway Administration Tim Smith, District Engineer, State Highway Administration Paul Comfort, Administrator, Maryland Transit Administration Beth Kreider, Local Transit Support Director, Maryland Transit Administration Chrissy Nizer, Administrator, Motor Vehicle Administration Ashish J. Solanki, Regional Aviation Assistance Director, Maryland Aviation Administration Clay Fischer, Assistant Government Relations Manager, Maryland Transportation Authority

### **Southern Maryland Delegation**

Senator Stephen Waugh Delegate Deborah Rey Delegate Matt Morgan Delegate Gerald Clark

### **Mayor of Leonardtown**

Dan Burris

Deputy Secretary Ports provided an overview of the Draft FY 2017 - FY 2022 Consolidated Transportation Program which details the Maryland Department of Transportation's draft six year capital budget. He noted there are more construction projects underway now than in Maryland's History. He discussed the proposed law, Chapter 36 (House Bill 1013), that would implement a new rating and ranking scoring system to be used for future Department of Transportation Capital Projects. Projects highlighted for St. Mary's County were a \$765,000 sidewalk project on Hollywood Road from MD 5 to Baldridge Street in Leonardtown; a \$2.8 million roundabout at MD234 and 242 in Clements; and, a planned \$500,000 drainage improvement project on MD 245 in California. Deputy Secretary Ports displayed the new "Maryland Proud" license plate and described the new Maryland driver's license as the most secure in the nation. Concern for other local projects were expressed and discussed.

### 9. ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 3:05 pm.

# 10. PUBLIC FORUM

### **Members present**

Commissioner President James R. Guy Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt Commissioner Tom Jarboe Commissioner Todd B. Morgan Commissioner John E. O'Connor Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator Tony Jones, Public Information Officer Sharon Ferris, Recorder

Commissioner President Guy opened the public forum at 6:30 in the Chesapeake Building meeting room, Governmental Center.

Following opening remarks Commissioner Guy opened the public forum for public comments.

Public comments given by: Keith Harless, 23225 Mirfield Lane, Lexington Park, MD 20653 David Willenborg, 24423 Mervell Dean Rd., Hollywood, MD 20636

There were no others wishing to speak so Commissioner Guy closed the public forum at 6:45 pm.