### Commissioners of St. Mary's County Meeting Minutes (Tuesday, November 7, 2017)

Generated by Sharon Ferris on Wednesday, November 8, 2017

# 1. COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY AND ST. MARY'S COUNTY METROPOLITAN COMMISSION JOINT MEETING

#### **Members present**

Commissioner President James R. Guy

Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt

Commissioner Tom Jarboe

Commissioner John E. O'Connor

Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator

Bob Kelly, CIO, Emergency Services & Technology

John Deatrick, Director, Dept. Public Works & Transportation

John Groeger, Deputy Director, Dept. of Public Works and Transportation

### Metropolitan Commissioners

John J. Carey, Chairman, Election Districts 2 & 9

Bryan M. Barthelme, Vice-Chairman, Election Districts 4 & 5

Alice Gaskin, Election District 1

Michael Mummaugh, Election District 3

Mike Thompson, Election District 6

Robert "Bob" A. Russell, Election District 7

Steven Willing, Election District 8

George Erichsen, Executive Director, Metropolitan Commission

Rebecca Shick, CFO, Metropolitan Commission

Christy Hollander, Chief Engineer, Metropoplitan Commission

Christopher Beaver, Metropolitan Commission Attorney

Commissioner President Guy opened the joint meeting at 9:00 am in the St. Mary's County Metropolitan Commission meeting room.

The following presentations were presented: the Metropolitan Commission Debt Policy Study conducted by Davenport & Company; St. Clements Shore GIS Mapping Project; and, Capital Improvements Projects Updates. Chapter 113 Task Force findings were presented and recommendations for 2018 Proposed Legislation Chapter 113 Amendments were voted on by the Commissioners of St. Mary's County and the St. Mary's County Metropolitan Commission.

### **Commissioners of St. Mary's County**

I move to support the 2018 proposed legislation for Chapter 113 Amendments, as recommended by the Task Force and approve the transmittal letter to the St. Mary's County delegation stating same.

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Tom Jarboe.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, O'Connor

### St. Mary's County Metropolitan Commissioners

I move to support the 2018 proposed legislation for Chapter 113 Amendments, as recommended by the Task Force and approve the transmittal letter to the St. Mary's County delegation stating same.

Motion by Commissioner Bryan M. Barthelme, second by Commissioner Robert "Bob" A. Russell.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Carey, Barthelme, Gaskin, Mummaugh, Thompson, Russell, Willing

The meeting adjourned at 10:30 am.

### 2. OUTSIDE EVENT

### A. DEPT. OF RECREATION & PARKS - Clarke's Landing Boat Ramp Ribbon Cutting

The Commissioners participated in a Ribbon Cutting Ceremony at the Clarke's Landing Board Ramp for improvements to the ramp which included construction of a new boat ramp, floating dock, and parking.

### 3. WELCOME

### **Members present**

Commissioner President James R. Guy Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt Commissioner Tom Jarboe Commissioner John E. O'Connor Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator Sharon Ferris, Recorder

**Absent:** Commissioner Todd B. Morgan

Commissioner President Guy called the business meeting of the Commissioners of St. Mary's County to order at 1:00 pm in the Chesapeake Building meeting room, Governmental Center.

### **Approval of Consent Agenda**

I move to approve the Consent Agenda, which includes the Minutes of October 31, 2017.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Tom Jarboe.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, O'Connor

### 4. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

# A. DRAFT AGENDAS FOR NOVEMBER 14 and 28, 2017. THERE WILL BE NO MEETING OF THE COMMISSIONERS ON NOVEMBER 21, 2017

## **B. DEPT. OF AGING & HUMAN SERVICES** - Three Oaks Center Lease Agreement Amendment

I move to approve the Amendment to the Lease Agreement for Three Oaks Center and authorize the Commissioner President to sign the Amendment to the Lease Agreement and all related documents.

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Tom Jarboe.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, O'Connor

# **C. DEPT. OF EMERGENCY SERVICES & TECHNOLOGY** - Atlantic Broadband Franchise Transfer Request

I move that the Resolution to approve the transfer of the cable television franchise granted by the commissioners of St. Mary's County be adopted and the Commissioner President is authorized to sign any related documents.

Motion by Commissioner Tom Jarboe, second by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, O'Connor

### **D. OFFICE OF THE COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR** - Plan of Action- Emergency Services

MOTION #1: I move to approve the hiring of a consultant to engage the BLS/ALS volunteer community in a SWOT analysis, approve a budget amendment for up to \$25,000 for same, and form a focus group to review the Emergency Services Committee Resolution 94-22 and bylaws and have the Commissioner President sign the related documents."

Motion by Commissioner Tom Jarboe, second by Commissioner President James R. Guy.

Final Resolution: Motion Fails Yea: Commissioners Guy, Jarboe

Nay: Commissioners Hewitt, O'Connor

MOTION #2: I move to approve the hiring of a consultant contingent upon the engagement of the BLS/ALS volunteer community in a SWOT, if it is determined to be necessary, and form a focus group to review the Emergency Services Committee Resolution 94-22 and bylaws and have the Commissioner President sign the related documents.

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Tom Jarboe.

**Motion Carries** 

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, O'Connor

### 5. COMMISSIONERS' TIME

The Commissioners highlighted events attended over the past week, upcoming events, and provided general comments.

### MOTION TO ENTER INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION

I move to enter into Executive Session for the purpose of discussing personnel.

Motion by Commissioner Tom Jarboe, second by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, O'Connor

### **6. EXECUTIVE SESSION**

#### A. PERSONNEL

Present: James R. Guy, President

Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner

Tom Jarboe, Commissioner

John E. O'Connor, Commissioner

Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator Catherine Pratson, Director, Human Resources

Craig Eichler, Chief of Staff, Deputy Secretary of Strategy and Administration, MD

Department of Human Services

Sharon Ferris, Recorder

Authority: §9-512(a)(1) of the Local Government Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland

Time Held: 1:55 pm am - 2:20 pm Purpose: To discuss personnel issue.

#### **B. PERSONNEL**

Present: James R. Guy, President

Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner

Tom Jarboe, Commissioner

John E. O'Connor, Commissioner

Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator Catherine Pratson, Director, Human Resources

Sharon Ferris, Recorder

Authority: §9-512(a)(1) of the *Local Government* Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland

Time Held: 2:22 pm - 3:10 pm Purpose: To discuss personnel issue.

### 7. ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 3:10 pm.	
Minutes Approved by the Commissioners of St. Mary's County on11/14/17	
SLF	
Sharon Ferris, Senior Administrative Coordinator	