MINUTES OF THE ST. MARY'S COUNTY BOARD OF APPEALS MEETING CHESAPEAKE BUILDING * LEONARDTOWN, MARYLAND Thursday, August 11, 2016

Members present were: George Allan Hayden, Chairman; John Brown, Co-Chair; William Greene; Wayne Miedzinski; and Ronald Payne. Alternate Stuart Egeli was also present.

Yvonne Chaillet, Bill Hunt, and Ashley Renshaw were present from the Department of Land Use and Growth Management, as well as George Sparling from the County Attorney's Office.

PUBLIC HEARINGS

1. Application/case: CUAP #13-135-002, Besche Oil Company, Inc. Property, Commercial Communication Tower (Continued from July 28, 2016)

Property owner: Besche Oil Company, Inc.

Location: 22348 Three Notch Road, Lexington Park, MD

Parcel ID: tax map: 43 grid: 10 parcel: 264

Election District: 8

Zoning: Corridor Mixed Use District (CMX)

Acreage: 2 acres

Action requested: Conditional Use approval pursuant to Chapter 25 of the Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance to construct a commercial communication tower

Mr. Brown made a motion to continue CUAP #13-135-002, Besche Oil Company, Inc. Property, Commercial Communication Tower until October 13, 2016. Mr. Miedzinski seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

2. Application/case: VAAP #16-0687, Taylor-Heatwole Property (Continued from July 14, 2016)
Property owner: Matthew Taylor and Amanda Heatwole
Location: 48206 Waterview Drive, St. Inigoes, MD
Parcel ID: tax map: 63 grid: 21 parcel: 301 Lot: 4
Election District: 1
Zoning: Rural Preservation District (RPD), Limited Development Area (LDA) Overlay
Acreage: 1.09 acres

Action requested: Variance from Section 71.5 of the Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance (CZO) to construct a deck within the expanded buffer from nontidal wetlands

Mr. Miedzinski made a motion in the matter of VAAP #16-0687, having made a finding that the standards for granting a variance and the objectives of Section 71.5 of the St. Mary's County Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance **have** been met, I move to **approve** the variance request to construct a deck within the expanded buffer from nontidal wetlands. *Mr.* Greene seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

3. Application/case: VAAP #15-0690, Hammett Property
Property owner: Donald and Jeanne Hammett
Location: 48721 Whitaker Road, St. Inigoes, MD
Parcel ID: tax map: 67 grid: 17 parcel: 316 lot: 10
Election District: 1
Zoning: Rural Preservation District (RPD), Resource Conservation Area (RCA) Overlay
Acreage: 6.12 acres
Action requested: Variance from Section 71.8.3 to disturb the Critical Area Buffer to construct an addition
Board of Appeals Agenda for August 11, 2016

Mr. Brown made a motion to continue VAAP #15-0690, Hammett Property, until October 13, 2016. Mr. Miedzinski seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

BOA 8/11/16

4. Application/case: VAAP #16-0906, Brooks Property Property owner: Scott V. and Marie Brooks Location: 21905 Tobacco Lane, Leonardtown, MD Parcel ID: tax map: 39 grid: 23 parcel: 106 Election District: 3 Zoning: Rural Preservation District (RPD), Resource Conservation Area (RCA) Overlay Acreage: 1.12 acres Action requested: Variance from Section 71.8.3 of the Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance to disturb the Critical Area Buffer to construct a replacement single-family dwelling.

Mr. Greene made a motion in the matter of VAAP 16-0906, Brooks Property, having made a finding that the standards for granting a variance in the Critical Area and the objectives of Section 71.8.3 of the St. Mary's County Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance **have** been met, I move to **approve** the variance request to disturb the Critical Area Buffer to construct a replacement single-family dwelling. Mr. Miedzinski seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

MINUTES AND ORDERS APPROVED

Mr. Brown made a motion to approve the minutes of July 28, 2016. Mr. Greene seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Mr. Miedzinski made a motion authorizing the Chairman to sign the orders for Appeal Case No. 16-01, Hollywood Commercial Center. Mr. Brown seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at approximately 7:30 p.m.

Approved in open session: September 8, 2016

George Allan Hayden

Chairman

Ashley Renshaw Recording Secretary