MINUTES OF THE ST. MARY'S COUNTY BOARD OF APPEALS MEETING CHESAPEAKE BUILDING * LEONARDTOWN, MARYLAND Thursday, September 22, 2011

Members present were Howard Thompson, Chairman; Randy Guy, Veronica Neale, and George T. Edmonds. Alternate Ronald Payne was also present. Wayne Miedzinski was excused. Department of Land Use & Growth Management (LUGM) staff present were Yvonne Chaillet, Zoning Administrator; and Jada Stuckert, Recording Secretary. Attorney Brian Dugan was also present.

A sign-in sheet is on file at LUGM. All participants in all cases were sworn in. The Chair called the meeting to order at 6:42 p.m.

PUBLIC HEARINGS

Verghese Nonconforming Use Status

Chairman Thompson stated this hearing is continued from July 14, 2011 at which time Mr. Dugan and Mr. Norris agreed to meet with Mr. Jon Grimm to obtain written testimony. Ms. Chaillet, LUGM was sworn for the record. Ms. Chaillet stated although this hearing was continued from July 14, 2011 it was not continued to a date certain therefore it was re-advertised and the certification of posting and mailing receipt was submitted for the record, *hereby labeled by the Recording Secretary as Exhibit 1*.

Mr. Zack Mattingly was sworn for the record. Mr. Mattingly stated he has not heard from his attorney and asked that he be allowed to have an attorney present. Mr. Thompson stated the hearing could be continued to October 27, 2011.

Mr. Verghese was sworn for the record. Mr. Verghese stated after calling Mr. Norris several times with no response it was his understanding that Mr. Norris would be present tonight. Mr. Verghese agreed to the continuation date of October 27, 2011.

Mr. Edmonds made a motion to continue this case to October 27, 2011 and Mr. Guy seconded. The motion passed by a 5-0 vote.

MINUTES AND ORDERS APPROVED

The minutes of September 8, 2011 were approved as recorded.

The Board authorized the Chair to review and sign the following orders: VAAP #10-0660 - MacDonald

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 7:15 p.m.	
	Jada Stuckert, Recording Secretary
Approved in open session: October 13, 2011	
Howard Thompson Chairman	