## St. Mary's County Government DEPARTMENT OF THE COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

**DATE:** 

Dr. Rebecca B. Bridgett, County Administrator



James R. Guy, President Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Tom Jarboe, Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, Commissioner John E. O'Connor, Commissioner

Commissioners of St. Mary's County

## ST. MARY'S COUNTY COMMISSION FOR WOMEN

October 11, 2016 at 5:35 P.M. in Room 14 of the Potomac Building

Present:	Norr	na Pipkin (Chair), Joanna Colvin (Vice Chair), Melissa Farren, Marta Kelsey,
	Mary	Ludwig, Erin Walker, Karen Wathen, Jennifer Brown and Diane Danaher
1. Iter	m #	1
Μ.	4:	A mostion may be to account the May O mostine Minates
	otion:	A motion was made to accept the May 9 meeting Minutes
By:	cond:	Marta Kelsey Joanna Colvin
For		A 11
	ainst:	All None
Aga	amst.	None
2. Iter	n #	2
2. 1001	.11 //	
Mo	otion:	A motion was made to accept the September 12 meeting minutes.
1410	,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,	14 motion was made to decept the September 12 meeting minutes.
By:	•	Joanna Colvin
•	cond:	Mary Ludwig
For	••	All
Aga	ainst:	None
_		
3. Iter	m #	3
Mo	otion:	A motion was made in that the CFW will write a letter in support
		of a new program "Girls on the Run". The program Girls on the
		Run aligns with the mission to support efforts to encourage young
		women. See the meeting notes for details on this program.
By:	•	Marta Kelsey
Sec	cond:	Erin Walker
For	••	All
Aga	ainst:	None

4. Item #	4
Motion:	A motion was made to donate one ticket to the 2017 Woman of the
	Year Banquet from the Facebook drawing held in in September.
By:	Karen Wathen
Second:	Mary Ludwig
For:	All
Against:	None
5. Item #	5
Motion:	A motion was made to write a letter to the editor of the Enterprise Newspaper emphasizing the Seriousness of the problem of
	Domestic Violence in and around St. Mary's County and the
	coordinating efforts of so many County Agencies addressing the
	issue.
By:	Erin Walker
Second:	Diane Danaher
For:	All
Against:	None
6. Item#	6
Motion:	A motion was made to accept an email vote that formally ratifies
	the selection of Barbara Thompson as the 2017 year's
	Lifetime Achievement Award recipient.
By:	Marta Kelsey
Second:	Mary Ludwig
For:	All
Against:	None
7. Item#	7
Motion:	A motion was made to adjourn the meeting October meeting at
	<u>6:40 p.m.</u>
By:	Mary Ludwig
Second:	Joanna Colvin
For:	All
Against:	None

Time Meeting Adjourned: <u>6:40 p.m.</u> Minutes Submitted By: <u>Sandie Greene</u>