Economic Development Commission

December 17, 2014, 6:00 p.m., Chesapeake Building

Minutes – Approved, January 21, 2015

Attendees: Richard Braam, Carlos Bravo, Daniel Carney, Tracy Harris, Phil Langley, James Raley, Tom Sanders, Michael Schroeder, Tom Watts

Absentees: Wynne Briscoe, Laura Clarke, Phil Dorsey, Bill Scarafia

Staff and Guests: Robin Finnacom, Acting Director; Dana DiGregorio, Sr. Administrative Coordinator; Ron Sweeney, Business Development Specialist, DED; Scott Dempwolf, PhD. Assistant Research Professor University of Maryland School of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation; Robin Parker Cox, Director, University of Maryland Institute for Governmental Service and Research

Issues:

- 1. Minutes of the November 19, 2014 meeting were reviewed. Tracy Harris made a motion to approve the minutes as written. The motion was seconded by Daniel Carney and passed unanimously.
- 2. Richard Braam, Chairman, provided the Commission members with detailed instruction on viewing the EDC meeting videos through the County's web site.

Discussion Topics:

- 1. The Department presented the 2015 "Set Aside" Spending Plan for economic development. The Plan received unanimous support from the Commissioners.
- 2. An RFP will be issued in January for development of the tourism and hospitality component of the CEDS.
- 3. The Commissioners of St. Mary's County voted to execute a second contract with TEDCO to support the SMIT initiative. The contract will run from January 1 through to the end of FY15.
- 4. University of Maryland's CEDS consultants are conducting focus group meetings with representatives from local industry sectors. Focus group meetings have been conducted with agriculture and retail and services representatives and some representatives of the defense industry. Additional focus group meetings will be scheduled in the New Year.

Presentations:

Scott Dempwolf, PhD., Assistant Research Professor University of Maryland School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation presented the first draft of an industry cluster analysis.

Actions:

1. The minutes of the December 19, 2014 meeting were approved.

Daniel Carney made a motion to adjourn. The motion was seconded by Jaime Raley and approved unanimously.

Minutes taken by Dana DiGregorio, Sr. Administrative Coordinator, DED