St. Mary's County Government DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

COUNTY,

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY
James R. Guy, President
Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner
Tom Jarboe, Commissioner
Todd B. Morgan, Commissioner
John E. O'Connor, Commissioner

Chris Kaselemis, Director

St. Mary's County Economic Development Commission February 15, 2017, 6:00 p.m., Chesapeake Building

Approved: April 19, 2017

Attendees: Richard Braam, Wynn Briscoe, Laura Clarke, Dan Carney, Phil Dorsey, Tracy

Harris, Phil Langley, Jamie Raley, Paul Junge

Staff: Chris Kaselemis, Robin Finnacom, Adam Mawyer, Katherine Stormont

Absent: Tom Sanders, Carlos Bravo, Tom Watts, Michael Schroder

Call to Order: Richard Braam called the meeting to order at 6:02 p.m.

Minutes:

1. Minutes of the November 16, 2016 meeting were reviewed. It was noted that Wynne's name was missing an "e" as was Laura Clarke's name. Dan Carney made a motion to approve the minutes as written. The motion was seconded by Phil Langley and passed unanimously.

ACTION: The minutes of the November 16, 2016 were approved.

2. Minutes of the March 16, 2016 meeting were reviewed. As there were no additions or corrections, Dan Carney motioned to approve the minutes as written. The motion was seconded by Wynne Briscoe and passed unanimously.

ACTION: The minutes of the March 16, 2016 were approved.

Announcements & Discussion:

- 1. Chairman Braam shared a letter from Commissioner President Randy Guy thanking the EDC for its hard work to develop the *Strategic Plan for Building an Innovation Driven Economy* and, as a direct result, alerting the Commission to the fact that the County intends to create a new position on the EDC for young professionals. Mr. Braam circulated the County's press release calling for young professionals to apply for appointment to the EDC for this purpose.
- 2. Chris Kaselemis reported that the Commissioners had unanimously voted to approve the Strategic Plan which incorporates the Tourism and Hospitality Master Plan. He will meet with the Commissioners again to discuss implementation of the Master Plan which may entail the creation of an outside entity to manage tourism and hospitality marketing and programing in the future.
- 3. Mr. Kaselemis discussed the status of the Tax Credit Incentive Policy. The Commissioners have adopted the policy but this now triggers a requirement for the adoption of an ordinance to support the policy. A draft of the ordinance has been presented to the Commissioners and must now be reviewed by the public through a public hearing to be scheduled in the near future.

- 4. Ms. Finnacom provided the Members with a draft EDC Annual Report for 2016. It was noted that the EDC's work of the past calendar year seemed more intensive than the page and a half would suggest. The Chairman called for approval of the Annual Report. Tracy Harris motioned to approve the Report as written. Laura Clarke seconded the motion which passed unanimously.
 - **ACTION:** The EDC's 2016 Annual Report was approved for submission to the County Administrator and Commissioners.
- 5. Ms. Finnacom reminded the Members that it was time for the annual election of officers. The officers of the EDC include the Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Secretary. Officers serve a one year term and can be renewed indefinitely. The Members will be solicited by e-mail for nominations. The election will be held at the next regularly scheduled EDC meeting.

Adjournment:

1. Laura Clark made a motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Dan Carney and approved unanimously.

Minutes taken by Robin Finnacom, Deputy Director, DED