St. Mary's County Government **DEPARTMENT OF** ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Chris Kaselemis, Director



COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY James R. Guy, President Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Tom Jarboe, Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, Commissioner John E. O'Connor, Commissioner

St. Mary's County Economic Development Commission

CEDS Work Session Summary February 3, 2016, 6:00 p.m., Russell Conference Room

Approved: February 17, 2016

Attendees: Laura Clarke, Richard Braam, Jamie Raley, Tracy Harris, Bill Scarafia, Phil Dorsey,

Phil Langley, Wynn Briscoe, Dan Carney, Carlos Bravo

Staff: Chris Kaselemis, Robin Finnacom

Absent: Tom Sanders, Tom Watts, Mike Schroeder

Call to Order: Richard Braam called the meeting to order at 6:10 p.m.

Commissioner's Certificates of Recognition were issued to the members of the Economic Development Commission by Chris Kaselemis. Mr. Kaselemis provided an update about the committee that continues to meet to evaluate the lessons learned from the visit to Huntsville, Alabama. Ms. Finnacom distributed a flyer about the upcoming Pax River Tech Demo Day and also spoke to the Commission about the election of officers.

CEDS Required Scope of Work: The Commissioners reviewed the federal government's requirements for completion of a comprehensive economic development study and the research and documentation tied to the scope of work. The Commissioners reviewed a draft Table of Contents for the UMD's CEDS. They initiated review of the studies and recommendations pertaining to agriculture, tourism and hospitality and the defense and manufacturing network analysis.

The UMD's study will meet the County's obligation to the federal government but it does not represent a completed CEDS for the EDC. The EDC will now begin to synthesize the studies and recommendations from the UMD, the University of Towson and the Strategic Advisory Group to prepare a CEDS that can be reviewed by public and ultimately presented to the Commissioners of St. Mary's County.

The EDC's next meeting will take place on February 17 at 6:00 p.m. and will be held in the Russell Conference Room of the Carter Building.