ALCOHOL BEVERAGE BOARD THURSDAY, DECEMBER 9, 2021 @ 1:00 PM COUNTY COMMISSIONERS CONFERENCE ROOM CHESAPEAKE BUILDING 41770 BALDRIDGE STREET LEONARDTOWN, MD 20650

The meeting of the Alcohol Beverage Board of St. Mary's County was held on Thursday, December 9, 2021, at 1:00 PM in the County Commissioners Conference Room, Chesapeake Building, Leonardtown, Maryland.

Chairman David Willenborg called the meeting to order at 1:00 pm.

ROLL CALL

Present:

Chairman David Willenborg
Member Leonard Kohl
Member Richard Shin
Member Barbara Hill
Member Richard Watts
Tamara Hildebrand, Administrator
Chris Beaver, Attorney
Suzan Dean, Recording Secretary
Kevin Hall, Inspector

Absent:

Sgt. Steve Myers, Alcohol Enforcement Coordinator

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Member Hill moved to approve the agenda. Motion was seconded by Member Watts. Motion carried.

APPROVAL OF MEETING MINUTES

Member Kohl moved to approve the minutes for the November 10, 2021 meeting. Motion was seconded by Member Hill. Motion carried.

OLD BUSINESS

Extension of Conditional Approvals

Jamaican Grill – Yao Hevi - Requesting 90-day extension of conditional approval

Yao Hevi appeared before the Board and was sworn in. Mr. Hevi explained to the Board that he has recently been able to get his approval from LUGM, so he is requesting a 90 day extension to finish this process. Member Watts made a motion to approve a 90-day extension of conditional approval to finish the finalization of changing from sole proprietor to a LLC. The motion was seconded by Member Shin. Motion carried.

Morris Point Restaurant – Christopher and Debra Soussanin - Requesting 90-day extension of conditional approval

Christopher Soussanin appeared before the Board and was sworn in. A letter was presented from Debra Soussanin allowing Christopher to speak on her behalf. Mr. Soussanin explained to the Board that LUGM is backlogged with their review process, and he is not sure when his plan will be reviewed. Member Watts made a motion to approve a 90-day extension of conditional approval to finish and approve the plan. The motion was seconded by Member Shin. Motion carried.

NEW BUSINESS

Officer/ Member/Trade Name changes

AMC Lexington Park 6 - removing Juliana Levitt; adding Samuel Shane Cooper

Member Wats made the motion to approve the officer change. Motion was seconded by Member Hill. Motion carried.

BOARD ADMINISTRATOR'S REPORT

New Year's Permits

Mrs. Hildebrand explained to the Board the purpose of the New Year's permit process. There were only three establishments this year that asked for the permit. Chairman Willenborg recused himself from the voting process. Member Kohl made the motion to approve the New Year's Eve permits. The motion was seconded by Member Hill. During the discussion process Member Watts expressed concerns about the need for the extra time for establishments to be opened to consume alcohol, 2 am- 6 am, as given during this permit. After much discussion with the Board, Mrs. Hildebrand stated that she would survey other jurisdictions to see if they practice this permit. A vote was taken. 3:1 in favor, Member Watts opposed. Motion carried.

FY23 Budget discussion

Mrs. Hildebrand explained that the budget would remain the same except for an increase to request funding for a car for the inspector. The "loaner" car that the inspector is currently driving is in need of replacing so finance has given Mrs. Hildebrand directives to add to this budget. Mrs. Hildebrand will be submitting the final budget to the Board at the January meeting, and it will then be submitted to the BOCC for approval.

ALCOHOL ENFORCEMENT COORDINATOR REPORT- Absent BOARD INSPECTOR REPORT

Kevin Hall reported for the month of November:

- 27 Inspections
- 3 Follow- Ups
- Assisted Mrs. Hildebrand in setting up the room for RAST

ST MARY'S LICENSED BEVERAGE ASSOCIATION- Absent

COMMUNITY ALCOHOL COALITION- Absent

BOARD MEMBERS TIME- Nothing to report

ADJOURNMENT

Member Hill made a motion to adjourn at 1:45 pm. Motion was seconded by Member Watts. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,
Suzan Dean, Recording Secretary
Suzan Dean, Recording Secretary
David Willenborg, Chairman