ST. MARY'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT **DEPARTMENT OF LAND USE** AND GROWTH MANAGEMENT

William B. Hunt, Director, AICP Harry Knight, Acting Deputy Director



COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S:

James R. Guy, President Eric Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, Commissioner John E. O'Connor, Commissioner

COMMISSION ON THE ENVIRONMENT (COE) December 3, 2019 Meeting Minutes

CALL TO ORDER: Meeting called to order at 6:39 p.m. in the Patuxent Building at 23150 Leonard Hall Drive, Leonardtown, Maryland 20650 at the Department of Land Use & Growth Management's middle conference room.

ROLL CALL: Attendance of Members, Staff Support, Citizens, Presenters and Speakers Citizens in Attendance COE Members in Attendance Molly Boron Thomas Brewer, President Paul Waxman Kristen Whitesell, Member Tricia Morra Melissa Rodriguez, Member Steve Woodburn, Member

Land Use & Growth Management Staff Support in Attendance Harry Knight, Acting Deputy Director Sherrie Young, Recording Secretary

OLD BUSINESS:

A. COE 11/5/19 Meeting Minutes - Approved Second: Melissa Rodriguez Final Resolution: Motion Carried 4-0 Motion: Kristen Whitesell

- B. Proposed Budget to remain the same for next fiscal year Approved
 a. Budget Approved with the condition to be able to move funds around as needed
 b. Current Funds still available until June 2020

Final Resolution: Motion Carried 4-0 Motion: Melissa Rodriguez Second: Kristen Whitesell

- C. 2020 COE Meeting Schedule Approval of all first Tuesdays of each month, except for the month of April that will be on the second Tuesday.
 a. Tuesdays at 6:30 pm: January 7th, February 4th, March 3rd, April 14th, May 5th, June 2nd, July 7th, August 4th, September 1st, October 6th, November 3rd and December 1st

Final Resolution: Motion Carried 4-0 Motion: Melissa Rodriguez Second: Steve Woodburn

- **D.** Keep Maryland Beautiful Grant Program; "The Citizen Stewardship" Application submittal moved to future date of June 2, 2020.
- E. Sustainability Awards Program updates
 a. Information and Nomination form is now on COE St. Mary's County website
 b. Participants Nomination forms are due by February 2020
- F. Review of Power Point Presentation intended for a future CSMC agenda item.
 a. Follow up information requested for the Commissioner Communication Memorandum template

P.O. BOX 653 * PATUXENT BUILDING * 23150 LEONARD HALL DRIVE, LEONARDTOWN, MD 20650 PHONE 301.475.4200 x1500 • FAX 301.475.4635 • www.stmarysmd.com • LUGM@STMARYSMD.COM

NEW BUSINESS:

- A. Status of COE Committee vacancies
 - Mike Thompson was voted to return to the COE Committee in January 2020 by a.
 - St. Mary's County Commissioners Molly Boron –Citizen Volunteer submitted application on 12/2/19 to be voted in as a New COE Committee Member b.
- B. St. Mary's County Department of Information & Technology (IT) creation of COE email a. All COE Members to have access
 - b. COE@stmarysmd.com
- C. Request for Citizen Volunteer, Molly Boron's \$25.96 Funds Reimbursement for supplies used in the Sustainability Awards Program
 - Receipt submitted 12/3/19 and COE Committee Approved Request for Refund to a. Molly Boron

Second: Melissa Rodriguez Final Resolution: Motion Carried 4-0 Motion: Kristen Whitesell

D. COE Chairman, Thomas Brewer to fill out forms for future COE Members that are Not attending meetings or have requested removal from the COE

COMMITTEE REPORTS: None

ADJOURN: At 8:18 p.m. Adjournment of the Commission on the Environment Meeting Final Resolution: Motion Carried 4-0 Motion: Kristen Whitesell Second: Steve Woodburn

Drafted by: Sherrie Young, Recording Secretary on Monday, December 17, 2019