# Commissioners of St. Mary's County Meeting Minutes (Tuesday, June 14, 2022)

Generated by Julie Burch on Tuesday, June 14, 2022

## **Members present**

Commissioner President James R. Guy Commissioner Eric Colvin Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt Commissioner Todd B. Morgan Commissioner John E. O'Connor David Weiskopf, Interim County Administrator ALisa Casas, Communications Director, Public Information Office

# **<u>1. RECEPTION FOR YEARS OF SERVICE AWARD RECIPIENTS</u></u>**

Prior to the start of the regular business meeting the Commissioners hosted a reception to honor Employee Years of Service Awards recipients.

## 2. WELCOME

Commissioner President Guy called the business meeting of the Commissioners of St. Mary's County to order at 9:01 a.m. in the Chesapeake Building Meeting Room, Governmental Center.

## **Approval of Consent Agenda**

I move to approve the Consent Agenda, which contains the Minutes of June 7, 2022, as presented.

Motion by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, second by Commissioner Eric Colvin. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Morgan Note Present at Vote: Commissioner O'Connor

## **<u>3. PROCLAMATIONS</u>**

Proclamations were presented for:

- A. National Nursing Assistants Week
- B. World Elder Abuse Awareness Day 2022

# **4. COMMENDATIONS**

Commendations were presented to:

- A. Marc Edwards Retirement
- B. Zane Rettstatt Retirement
- C. Robert Richardson

# 5. MAIN AGENDA ITEM

## A. DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES - Years of Service Awards

**Present:** Catherine Pratson, Director June Robrecht, Deputy Director

The following individuals were recognized for years of service to St. Mary's County Government.

## 10 Years

Linda Spates, Circuit Court Benjamin Chase, Department of Public Works and Transportation Daniel Johnson, Department of Public Works and Transportation Brandon Havden, Department of Finance Jessica Hale, Department of Recreation and Parks James Emery, Department of Recreation and Parks Laura Caspar, States Attorney Office John Pleisse, States Attorney Office Buffy Giddens, States Attorney Office Monica Thomas, Sheriff Office Dannette Barrow, Sheriff Office Rvan Spence, Sheriff Office William Dunkin, Sheriff Office Maria Neme, Sheriff Office Skyler Lefave, Sheriff Office Rozier Steinbach IV, Sheriff Office Sheena Tirpack, Sheriff Office

#### 15 Years

Claire Langeluttig, Circuit Court Lori Jennings-Harris, Department of Aging and Human Services Drema Russell, Department of Aging and Human Services Joyce Knepp, Department of Public Works and Transportation George Oliver, Jr., Department of Public Works and Transportation Lee Milburn, Department of Emergency Services Terry Kerns, Department of Finance Pamela (Pam) Allen, Department of Finance Brandy Glenn, Department of Land Use and Growth Management Amy Carter, Public Information Office Michael Kane, States Attorney Office Jamie Davis, Sheriff Office Glenda Thompson, Sheriff Office Daniel Catlett, Sheriff Office Kristi Nelson, Sheriff Office Austin Barnard, Sheriff Office Michael Boyer, Sheriff Office

#### 20 Years

Debra Litten, Department of Public Works and Transportation James (Randy) Miedzinski, Department of Public Works and Transportation Marilyn Savoy, Department of Public Works and Transportation John Miedzinski, Department of Emergency Services Robert (Bob) Kelly, Department of Information Technology George (Ed) Alt, Department of Recreation and Parks Daniel White, States Attorneys Office Milton Pesante, Sheriff Office June Smith, Sheriff Office

#### 25 Years

Brian Woodland, Department of Public Works and Transportation Mark Pettit, Department of Emergency Services Sandra Greene, Department of Land Use and Growth Management Marcus (Tyrone) Harris, Department of Recreation and Parks Margaret Currie, States Attorney Office Robert Russell, Jr., Sheriff Office Edward Evans, Sheriff Office David Alexander, Sheriff Office

#### 30 Years

**Clifford Fuller**, Department of Public Works and Transportation **Allen Settle**, Department of Public Works and Transportation **Donald Russell**, Department of Public Works and Transportation

#### 35 Years

Gary Holley, Department of Public Works and Transportation

## <u>40 Years</u>

Mark Clark, Sheriff Office

**B. DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE** - Final Approval for the Board of Education FY 2023 Budget

**Motion #1**: I move to approve the Board of Education's operating, revolving, restricted, and capital budgets for FY2023 at the category and fund level, including FTE positions; and

authorize the Commissioner President to execute the related documents and send MSDE Forms B-4 through B-10 as submitted by BOE.

Motion by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, second by Commissioner Eric Colvin. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioner Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Morgan, O'Connor

**Motion #2:** I move that the appropriation of \$121,524,907 will be distributed to the SMC Board of Education in four equal installments over the fiscal year.

Motion by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, second by Commissioner John E. O'Connor. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioner Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Morgan, O'Connor

# 6. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

A. DRAFT AGENDAS FOR JUNE 28 AND JULY 12, 2022. There will be no meetings of the Commissioners on June 21 or July 5, 2022.

**B. MD DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE -** FY2023 Cooperative Agreement between the MD Department of Agriculture and the Commissioners of St. Mary's County

I move to approve the FY2023 Cooperative Agreement between the MD Department of Agriculture and the Commissioners of St. Mary's County for the weed control program and authorize the Commissioner President to execute the related documents.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioner Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Morgan, O'Connor

**C. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS AND TRANSPORTATION** - Establish "All-Way Stop" at Tallwood Road with Primevere Street and Primevere Road

I move to adopt the Ordinance establishing the designation of the All-Way Stop at the intersection of Tallwood Road, Primevere Road/Primevere Street and authorize the Commissioner President to sign the related documents.

Motion by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, second by Commissioner John E. O'Connor. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioner Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Morgan, O'Connor

# **D. DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT** - Military Installation Resilience Program

I move to direct the Department of Economic Development to apply for the Military Installation Review grant from the U. S. Office of Local Defense Community Cooperation and authorize the Commissioner President to sign any related documents.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Eric Colvin. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioner Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Morgan, O'Connor

**E. DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT -** Maryland Agriculture Land Preservation Foundation FY2022 Ranking

I move to approve the letter indicating support for the St. Mary's County Agriculture Land Preservation Advisory Board's ranking of the properties to be considered for Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation funding and authorize the Commissioner President to sign all related documents.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioner Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Morgan, O'Connor

# 7. COMMISSIONERS' TIME

The Commissioners highlighted events attended over the past week and provided general comments.

# 8. ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at approximately 10:49 a.m.

Minutes approved by the Commissioners of St. Mary's County on June 28, 2022. JB

Julie Burch, Senior Admin Coordinator

# 9. OUTSIDE EVENT - FLAG DAY - GOVERNMENTAL CENTER LAWN