### Commissioners of St. Mary's County Meeting Minutes (Tuesday, May 16, 2023)

Generated by Julie Burch on Tuesday, May 16, 2023

#### **Members present**

Commissioner President James R. Guy Commissioner Eric S. Colvin Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt Commissioner Michael R. Alderson Jr. Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow David Weiskopf, County Administrator Jenna Guzman, Communications Director, Public Information Office

Commissioner President Guy called the business meeting of the Commissioners of St. Mary's County to order at 9:00 a.m. in the Chesapeake Building Meeting Room, Governmental Center.

#### **Approval of Consent Agenda**

I move to approve the Consent Agenda, which includes the Minutes of May 9, 2023, as presented.

Motion by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, second by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

### 2. PROCLAMATIONS

Proclamations were presented for:

- A. Ehlers-Danlos Syndromes and Hypermobility Spectrum Disorders Awareness Month
- B. Lyme Disease Awareness Month
- C. National Transportation Week

# **3. COMMENDATION**

A commendation was presented to Chip McGolrick for his retirement.

### 4. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

**A. DRAFT AGENDAS FOR MAY 23 AND JUNE 6, 2023.** There will be no meeting of the Commissioners on May 30, 2023.

**B. STATE'S ATTORNEY OFFICE** - FY2024 GOCPYVYS Violence Intervention and Prevention Program (VIPP) Grant proposal

I move to approve the FY2024 GOCPYVYS Violence Intervention and Prevention Program (VIPP) grant application and have the Commissioner President sign the related documents.

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

**C. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS AND TRANSPORTATION** - FY2024 Inter-Governmental Agreement between Maryland State Department of Social Services and the Commissioners of St. Mary's County for Job Access Reverse Commute (JARC) I, II, III

I move to approve the FY2024 Inter-Governmental Agreement between Maryland State Department of Social Services and the Commissioners of St. Mary's County for Job Access Reverse Commute (JARC) I, II, III and authorize the Commissioner President to sign all related documents.

Motion by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, second by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

**D. DEPARTMENT OF RECREATION AND PARKS** - Budget Amendment – Potential Purchase of Willows Recreation Center

I move to approve the Budget Amendment in the amount of \$4,602,000 for the potential purchase of the Willows Recreation Center and the associated closing costs, facility renovations, and furnishings and authorize the Commissioner President to sign all related documents.

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

**E. DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE**-Budget Amendment to Realign County Personal Services FY2023

I move to approve the budget amendment decreasing salary and fringe accounts and increasing the Commissioner's Emergency Reserve account in the amount of \$476,535 due to salary savings.

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

# 5. COMMISSIONERS' TIME

The Commissioners highlighted events attended over the past week and provided general comments.

### MOTION TO ENTER INTO CLOSED SESSION

I move to enter into closed session to discuss Litigation and Real Property.

Motion by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, second by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson Jr. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

## 6. MEMORIAL CEREMONY - RON PRETTYMAN

A Memorial Tribute for Ron Prettymen was held in the Chesapeake Building Lobby. The Commissioners presented his family a Proclamation in honor of his dedicated service to the County while employed at the Department of Public Works and Transportation. Mr. Pettyman's name and dates of service were placed on the Memorial Plaque in the lobby of the Chesapeake Building.

## 7. CLOSED SESSION

### A. LITIGATION

Present: James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson Jr., Commissioner Eric Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner David Weiskopf, County Administrator John Houser, Assistant County Attorney Sharon Ferris, Recorder

Authority: §9-512(a)(2) of the Local Government Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland Time Held: 10:04 a.m. -10:09 a.m. Location: Savich Conference Room Purpose: To discuss Litigation status

### **B. REAL PROPERTY**

Present: James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson Jr., Commissioner Eric Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner David Weiskopf, County Administrator Arthur Shepherd, Director, Dept. Recreation and Parks Buffy Giddens, Deputy County Attorney John Houser, Assistant County Attorney Sharon Ferris, Recorder

Authority: §9-512(a)(6) of the Local Government Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland Time Held: 10:10 a.m. -10:21 a.m. Location: Savich Conference Room Purpose: To hold preliminary discussions concerning the purchase or disposition of real property.

## 8. ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 10:21 a.m. Minutes approved by the Commissioners of St. Mary's County on May 23, 2023. \_\_\_\_\_JB\_\_\_\_\_ Julie Burch, Senior Admin Coordinator

# 9. FY2024 BUDGET WORK SESSION

A. DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE - FY2024 Budget work session to seek final direction

**Present:** Jeannett Cudmore, Chief Financial Officer Joy Sapp, Deputy Director

**MOTION 1:** I move to allocate \$86,985 for an hourly Veterinarian and \$45,000 allocated for non-recurring supplies from the unassigned fund balance. Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

**MOTION 2:** I make a motion that we accept the funding as we discussed today and we will take it to final vote next week.

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

#### 10. ADJOURN