### Commissioners of St. Mary's County Meeting Minutes (Tuesday, June 6, 2023)

Generated by Julie Burch on Tuesday, June 6, 2023

#### **Members present**

Commissioner President James R. Guy Commissioner Eric S. Colvin Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt Commissioner Michael R. Alderson Jr. Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow David Weiskopf, County Administrator Jenna Guzman, Communications Director, Public Information Office

## **1. RECEPTION FOR RECIPIENTS OF YEARS OF SERVICE RECOGNITION**

Prior to the start of the regular business meeting the Commissioners hosted a reception to honor Employee Years of Service Award recipients.

### 2. WELCOME

Commissioner President Guy called the business meeting of the Commissioners of St. Mary's County to order at 9:01 a.m. in the Chesapeake Building Meeting Room, Governmental Center.

### **Approval of Consent Agenda**

I move to approve the Consent Agenda, which contains the Minutes of May 23, 2023, as presented. Motion by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, second by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

### **3. PROCLAMATION**

A proclamation was presented for LGBTQIA Month.

### 4. COMMENDATION

A commendation was presented to David Yingling for his retirement.

### 5. PRESENTATION

A. DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES - Years of Service Employee Recognition

**Present:** Catherine Pratson, Director June Robrecht, Deputy Director

The following individuals were recognized for years of service to St. Mary's County Government.

#### 10 Years

George W. Jones, Dept. of Aging and Human Services Urslula A. Harris, Dept. of Aging and Human Services Robin D. Green, Dept. of Public Works and Transportation Brian M. Norris, Dept. of Public Works and Transportation Jerry G. Caton, Dept. of Emergency Services Cynthia C. Slattery, Dept. of Human Resources Rocky A. Binger, Dept. of Information Technology Anthony D. Hardesty (Tony), Dept. of Land Use and Growth Management Wendy M. Bell, State's Attorney Office Kristie L. Ardire, Sheriff Office Patrick A. Britt, Sheriff Office Luis E. Ramos-Dompenciel, Sheriff Office Roberto Ramos-Blanco, Sheriff Office Lacev A. Smith, Sheriff Office Megan C. Roberts, Sheriff Office Timothy E. Wesner, Sheriff Office David M. Lawrence, Sheriff Office Laura K. Deneale. Sheriff Office Laura Mills, Sheriff Office Ashley E. Knight, Sheriff Office

15 Years

Cheri A. Noffsinger, County Administrator Rebecca J. Kessler, Dept. of Aging and Human Services Robert B. Norris III, Dept. of Public Works and Transportation Floyd A. Brown Jr., Dept. of Public Works and Transportation James T. Yorkshire, Dept. of Public Works and Transportation Mary Ann Gardiner, Dept. of Emergency Services Marilyn V. Smith, Dept. of Land Use and Growth Management Jonathan R. Lowe, Dept. of Recreation and Parks Lena T. Nguyen, State's Attorney Office Gretchen L. Irby, Sheriff Office Austin R. Schultz, Sheriff Office Kenneth H. Flerlage, Sheriff Office

20 Years

Lori A. Tabor-Finch, Circuit Court

Billy Schrader III, Dept. of Public Works and Transportation
Michael W. Abell, Dept. of Public Works and Transportation
Howard E. Lewis (Ellis), Dept. of Public Works and Transportation
James L. Nelson, Dept. of Public Works and Transportation
James M. Mattingly IV (Jay), Dept. of Emergency Services
Joseph R. Saunders, Dept. of Emergency Services
Shelly K. Bean, Dept. of Finance
Larry W. Eberhard, Dept. of Land Use and Growth Management
James E. Oliver Jr. (Jimmy), Dept. of Recreation and Parks
William J. Rishel, Sheriff Office
Brian J. Connelly, Sheriff Office

25 Years

Pamela F. Soffos, State's Attorney OfficeMarguerite Bowmen, Sheriff OfficeMichael Peacher, Sheriff OfficeJulie Yingling, Sheriff OfficeMichael A. Labanowski, Sheriff OfficeChad D. Hartzell, Sheriff Office

<u>30 Years</u> Bruce Wade, Dept. of Public Works and Transportation

### 6. MAIN AGENDA ITEM

**A. OFFICE OF THE COUNTY ATTORNEY** - Final Decision - Proposed Resolution to Update the St. Mary's County Road Naming and Addressing Manual

Vote Postponed

### 7. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

**A. DRAFT AGENDAS FOR JUNE 13 and 27, 2023.** There will be no meeting of the Commissioners on June 20, 2023.

**B. STATE'S ATTORNEY'S OFFICE** - FY2024 GOCPYVS Edward J. Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance (BJAG) Grant application

I move to approve the grant application submission of FY2024 GOCPYVS Edward J. Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance (BJAG) Grant for \$98,897.36 by State's Attorney's Office and have the Commissioner President sign the related documents.

Motion by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, second by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson Jr.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

### C. DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES - Personnel Policy Manual Update

I move to approve the proposed update to the St. Mary's County Manual of Personnel Policies and Procedures and the proposed update to the Schedule of Pay Differentials, Premium Pay and Insurance Premiums included in the FY2024 budget book, as presented.

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

**D. DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE** - FY2024 Cooperative Agreement between the MD Department of Agriculture and the Commissioners of St. Mary's County

I move to approve the FY2024 Cooperative Agreement between the MD Department of Agriculture and the Commissioners of St. Mary's County for the continuation of the program for the control and eradication of invasive and designated weed species in St. Mary's County, and authorize the Commissioner President to execute the related documents.

Motion by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, second by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson Jr.. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

# E. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR - Approve Employment Contract

I move to approve the employment contract for the St. Mary's County Government Deputy County Administrator and authorize the Commissioner President to sign the related agreement with terms and conditions as presented.

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

# 8. COMMISSIONERS' TIME

The Commissioners highlighted events attended over the past week and provided general comments.

### 9. ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 10:25 a.m.

Minutes approved by the Commissioners of St. Mary's County on June 13, 2023

\_\_\_\_\_JB\_\_\_\_\_ Julie Burch, Senior Admin. Coordinator