Commissioners of St. Mary's County Meeting Minutes (Tuesday, July 25, 2023)

Generated by Julie Burch on Tuesday, July 25, 2023

Members present

Commissioner President James R. Guy Commissioner Eric S. Colvin Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt Commissioner Michael R. Alderson Jr. Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow David Weiskopf, County Administrator Jenna Guzman, Communication Director, Public Information Office

Commissioner President Guy called the business meeting of the Commissioners of St. Mary's County to order at 9:00 a.m. in the Chesapeake Building Meeting Room, Governmental Center.

Approval of Consent Agenda

I move to approve the Consent Agenda, which includes the Minutes of July 18, 2023, as presented.

Motion by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, second by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson Jr. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

2. PRESENTATION

A. SOUTHERN MARYLAND NATIONAL HERITAGE AREA - Brief

Present: Lucille Walker, Executive Director, Southern Maryland National Heritage Area

Ms. Walker discussed the achievement of receiving the National Heritage Area by an act of U.S. Congress. The National Heritage Area designation for St. Mary's, Charles, Calvert, and southern Prince George's counties will raise the national and international profile of the region. Receiving the designation will also bring federal funding opportunities to our area and help current and future generations to understand the importance of our heritage and preserving our history.

3. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

A. DRAFT AGENDAS FOR AUGUST 1 and 22, 2023. There will be no meeting of the Commissioners on August 8 or 15, 2023.

B. SHERIFF'S OFFICE - DOJ - Edward J. Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program FY2023 Local Solicitation

I move to approve the FY2023 Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program-Local Solicitation Application, from the U.S. Department of Justice, in the amount of \$21,369 to purchase protective shields and forcible entry tools, and authorize the Commissioner President to sign any related or subsequent application documents and Sheriff's Office staff to submit electronically.

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

C. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS AND TRANSPORTATION - State Highway Administration Donation Plat and Deed - Barns at New Market

I move to approve and authorize the Commissioner President to sign the deed with the State Highway Administration for the donation of right of way associated with Thompson Corner Road and the entrance to the Barns at New Market as presented by staff.

Motion by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, second by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

D. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS AND TRANSPORTATION - Strategic Highway Safety Plan

I move to approve the Local Roadway Safety Plan and sign the Resolution to present the LRSP to the MDOT MVA Highway Safety Office.

Motion by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, second by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson Jr. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

4. COMMISSIONERS' TIME

The Commissioners highlighted events over the past week and provided general comments.

MOTION TO ENTER INTO CLOSED SESSION

I move to enter into Closed Session to discuss Real Property.

Motion by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, second by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

5. CLOSED SESSION

A. REAL PROPERTY

Present: James R. Guy, President

Michael R. Alderson Jr., Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner David Weiskopf, County Administrator David Yingling, Deputy County Administrator Buffy Giddens, Deputy County Attorney James Gotsch, Director, Dept of Public Works and Transportation Sharon Ferris, Recorder

Authority: §9-512(a)(6) of the Local Government Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland Time Held: 10:45 a.m. - 11:10 a.m. Location: Savich Conference Room Purpose: To discuss acquisition for real property for FDR Blvd. Phase 3B.

6. ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 11:10 am. Minutes approved by the Commissioners of St. Mary's County on August 1, 2023. ______JB______

Julie Burch, Senior Admin Coordinator