Commissioners of St. Mary's County Meeting Minutes (Tuesday, November 14, 2023)

Generated by Julie Burch on Wednesday, November 15, 2023

Members present

Commissioner President James R. Guy
Commissioner Eric S. Colvin
Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt
Commissioner Michael R. Alderson Jr.
Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow
David Weiskopf, County Administrator
Jenna Guzman, Communication Director, Public Information Office
Julie Burch, Recorder

1. RECEPTION FOR CITIZENS ACADEMY GRADUATES

The Commissioners hosted a reception for the Citizens Academy Graduates.

2. WELCOME

Commissioner President Guy called the business meeting of the Commissioners of St. Mary's County to order at 9:02 a.m. in the Chesapeake Building Meeting Room, Governmental Center.

Approval of Consent Agenda

I move to approve the Consent Agenda, which contains the Minutes of November 7, 2023.

Motion by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, second by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

3. PROCLAMATIONS

Proclamations were presented for:

- A. World Children's Day
- B. Great American Smokeout
- C. Giving Tuesday

4. COMMENDATION

A commendation was presented to Patricia Smith for her retirement.

5. PRESENTATION

A. Citizens Academy Recognition

The 2023 Citizens Academy Graduates are:

Belinda Lloyd Catherine Brenda Coates

Charles Stickney David Yingling Gerald "Jay" Cousineau Glen Vacek James Hayden James Krilich

James Williams Jeffrey Scott Gibson Jr.

Jennifer Raley
Julia Shevchenko
Kimberly Robinson
Merl Evans Jr.
Parish Smith
Steve Tuttle
Mohn Harris
Katherine Smith
Mary Harris
Michael Guy
Rupan Talukder
William Day Sr.

Zachary Steele

6. MAIN AGENDA ITEM

A. DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES - Request for Public Hearing - Proposed 18th Amendment to the Sheriff's Office Retirement Plan

I move to approve holding a morning public hearing on November 28th at 9:30 in consideration of the proposed 18th amendment to the Sheriff's Office Retirement Plan providing a one-time repayment of refunded employee pension contributions for certain re-hired SORP participants.

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

7. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

A. DRAFT AGENDAS FOR NOVEMBER 28 AND DECEMBER 5, 2023. There will be no meeting of the Commissioners on November 21.

B. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS AND TRANSPORTATION - St. Mary's Transit System Title VI Plan 2024-2026

I move to approve the St. Mary's Transit System (STS) Title VI Implementation Plan for FY24-26 for submission to the Maryland Department of Transportation Maryland Transit Administration and authorize the Commissioner President to execute the St. Mary's Transit

System (STS) Title VI Implementation Plan for FY24-26 for submission to the Maryland Department of Transportation Maryland Transit Administration.

Motion by Commissioner Eric S Colvin, second by Commissioner Michael R Alderson Jr. Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

C. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS AND TRANSPORTATION - FDR Boulevard Road Resolution and Ordinances for Phase 3A (Chancellors Run Rd to Buck Hewitt Rd)

MOTION 1: I move to approve the Resolution to accept FDR Boulevard into the County Highway Maintenance System, from Chancellors Run Rd. (MD 237) to Buck Hewitt Rd. (County Route #30426).

Motion by Commissioner Scott R.Ostrow, second by Commissioner Michael L.Hewitt.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

MOTION 2: I move to approve the Resolution to re-name Fire Department Lane (Private) to FDR Boulevard (County Route #31335).

Motion by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, second by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

MOTION 3: I move to approve the Ordinance for the shoulders and marked lanes of FDR Boulevard, from Chancellor's Run Rd. (MD 237) to Buck Hewitt Road, to be designated as bicycle lanes.

Motion by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, second by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

MOTION 4: I move to approve the Ordinance to regulate speed (35 MPH) and establishment of yield intersections at the three (3) roundabout intersections along FDR Boulevard located at the Commercial Entrance (1,600 linear feet south of the MD 237 intersection), MacArthur Blvd. and, Buck Hewitt Road intersections.

Motion by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, second by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

D. DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES - Holiday Leave

I move to approve the resolution recognizing November 22, 2023 and December 26, 2023 as additional paid holidays in calendar year 2023.

Motion by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, second by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson Jr.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

8. COMMISSIONERS' TIME

The Commissioners discussed events attended over the past week and wished everyone a Happy Thanksgiving.

9. ADJOURN

10. OUTSIDE EVENT - FDR RIBBON CUTTING CEREMONY, 45779 Fire Department Lane (at Elks Lodge), California, MD

11. PUBLIC HEARING

A. OFFICE OF THE COUNTY ATTORNEY - Public Hearing - Proposed Ordinance to Establish St. Mary's County School Zone Speed Camera Safety Program

Commissioner President James R. Guy

Commissioner Eric S. Colvin

Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt

Commissioner Michael R. Alderson Jr.

Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow

David Weiskopf, County Administrator

Jenna Guzman, Communication Director, Public Information Office

Julie Burch, Recorder

Commissioner President Guy opened the public hearing at 6:30 p.m.

Present: John Houser, Assistant County Attorney

Captain Sean Moses, St. Mary's County Sheriff's Office

The public hearing is to receive public input on the proposed ordinance to establish the School Zone Speed Camera Safety Act. Notice of the public hearing was published on October 27 and November 3, 2023, in the *Southern Maryland Newspaper*. This ordinance would permit the placement and operation of Speed Zone Safety Cameras on County roads within a ½ mile radius of an accredited public, private, or parochial school (K-12).

Commissioner President Guy requested David Weiskopf provide the format for the public hearing and open the hearing for public comment.

Public Comments given by:

Skip Stewart, Leonardtown, MD
Ed Evans, Mechanicsville, MD
Scott Zerbiak, Lexington Park, MD
Paul Kelly, Leonardtown, MD
Laurel Anderson, California, MD
Todd Morgan, Lexington Park, MD
Thomas Rogers, California, MD
Jeffery Thompson, Leonardtown, MD
Roy Fedders, Dameron, MD
Michael Goddard, California, MD

Mr. Weiskopf closed the public hearing for public comment and noted that the record would remain open for public comment for an additional seven days. Commissioner President Guy closed the public hearing at approximately 7:10 p.m.

12. ADJOURN