Commissioners of St. Mary's County Meeting Minutes (Tuesday, November 28, 2023)

Generated by Julie Burch on Tuesday, November 28, 2023

Members present

Commissioner Eric S. Colvin
Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt
Commissioner Michael R. Alderson Jr.
Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow
David Weiskopf, County Administrator
Jenna Guzman, Communications Director, Public Information Office
Julie Burch, Recorder

Absent: Commissioner President James R. Guy

Commissioner Vice President Colvin called the business meeting of the Commissioners of St. Mary's County to order at 9:00 a.m. in the Chesapeake Building Meeting Room, Governmental Center.

Approval of Consent Agenda

I move to approve the Consent Agenda, which includes the Minutes of November 14, 2023, as presented.

Motion by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, second by Commissioner Michael R Alderson Jr.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

2. MAIN AGENDA ITEM

A. OFFICE OF THE COUNTY ATTORNEY - Final Decision - Ordinance to Establish the St. Mary's County School Zone Speed Camera Safety Program

I make a motion that we hold off making a decision until DPW & T has an opportunity to determine the problem.

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Michael R Alderson Jr.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

Nay: Commissioner Colvin

3. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

A. DRAFT AGENDAS FOR DECEMBER 5 and DECEMBER 12, 2023.

B. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS AND TRANSPORTATION - FDR Boulevard Phase 3B - Roulhac Family and Velocity (Fee Simple and Easements)

I move to approve the Option Contract with the Roulhac Family in the amount of \$64,700 and the Option Contract with Velocity Capital Investment Group, LLC in the amount of \$15,000 for fee simple and easement acquisitions to construct FDR Boulevard and authorize the Commissioner President to sign all related documents.

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

C. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS AND TRANSPORTATION - St. Mary's Transit System (STS) Public Transportation Agency Safety Plan (PTASP) Annual Update

I move to approve the St. Mary's Transit System's (STS) annual Public Transportation Agency Safety Plan (PTASP) and authorize the Commissioner Vice President to sign all related documents.

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

D. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS AND TRANSPORTATION - Part I NPSB BA; Part II FY24 STS Operating Grant Award, Part III FY24 Capital Grant Award

MOTION 1: I move to approve the FY2024 Maryland Department of Transportation/Maryland Transit Administration (MDOT/MTA) operating grant agreement for the St. Mary's Transit System (STS) Operating program in the amount of \$2,555,854, approve the Commissioner Vice President to sign the related Budget Amendments and authorize the DPW&T Director to submit the Grant Agreement electronically.

Motion by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson Jr., second by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt. Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

MOTION 2: I move to approve the Capital Grant Agreement in the amount of \$443,554 and the related budget amendments and authorize the Commissioner Vice President to execute the related documents.

Motion by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, second by Commissioner Michael R Alderson Jr.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

MOTION 3: I move to approve the budget amendment to reduce non-public school bus funding and increase Commissioner Emergency Reserve by \$383,017 and authorize the Commission Vice President to sign the related documents.

Motion by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson Jr., second by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

E. OFFICE OF THE COUNTY ATTORNEY - Real Property - Railroad Right-of-Way Easement Agreement

I move to approve the Railroad Right-of-way Easement Agreement with 22757 Three Notch Road, LLC (doing business as) Nissan of Lexington Park, for underground Washington Gas utilities, and to authorize the Commissioner President to execute any and all documents.

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

4. COMMISSIONERS' TIME

The Commissioners highlighted events over the past week and provided general comments.

MOTION TO ENTER INTO CLOSED SESSION

I move to enter into closed session to discuss Personnel - Boards Committees and Commissions.

Motion by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson Jr., second by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

5. CLOSED SESSION

A. PERSONNEL - Boards, Committees and Commissions

Present: James R. Guy, President

Michael R. Alderson Jr., Commissioner

Eric Colvin, Commissioner

Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

David Weiskopf, County Administrator

David Yingling, Deputy County Administrator

Diane Gleissner, Coordinator for Boards, Committees and Commissions Sharon Ferris, Recorder

Authority: §9-512(a)(1) of the Local Government Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland

Time Held: 10:37 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. Location: Savich Conference Room

Purpose: To discuss vacancies for Boards, Committees and Commissions

6. ADJOURN

7. FY2025 BUDGET WORK SESSION

A. DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE - FY2025 Budget Work Session CIP

Present: Jeannett Cudmore, Chief Financial Officer

Joyce Sapp, Deputy Director

8. ADJOURN