# Commissioners of St. Mary's County Meeting Minutes (Tuesday, May 6, 2025)

Generated by Julie Burch on Tuesday, May 6, 2025

## **Members present**

Commissioner President James R. Guy

Commissioner Eric S. Colvin

Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt

Commissioner Michael R. Alderson, Jr.

Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow

David Weiskopf, County Administrator

Jenna Guzman, Communications Director, Public Information Office

Julie Burch, Recorder

Commissioner President Guy called the meeting of the Commissioners of St. Mary's County to order at 9:00 a.m. in the Chesapeake Building Meeting Room, Governmental Center.

# **Approval of Consent Agenda**

I move to approve the Consent Agenda, which includes the Minutes of April 29, 2025.

Motion by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson, Jr., second by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

### 2. PROCLAMATIONS

Proclamations were presented for:

- A. Travel and Tourism Week
- B. National Small Business Month
- C. National Nurses Week
- D. National Historic Preservation Month

#### 3. PRESENTATION

#### A. DEPARTMENT OF LAND USE AND GROWTH MANAGEMENT - Historic

**Preservation Awards** 

Present: Karly Maltby, Planner III, Department of Land Use and Growth Management

The following awards were presented:

Historic Preservation Service Award

Donald M. Barber and David G. Brown for the book, "The Barber Family: From Slavery, Through Segregation and The Civil Rights Movement."

Lifetime Achievement Award

Bob Crickenberger for his work at Point Lookout State Park Nancy Easterling for her work at Historic Sotterley

## 4. MAIN AGENDA ITEMS Part 1

#### A. DEPARTMENT OF EMERGENCY SERVICES -2024 LOSAP APPEALS

I move to approve the nineteen additional Fire and EMS volunteers, adding them to the 2024 certified LOSAP list.

Motion by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, second by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson, Jr.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

**B. DEPARTMENT OF EMERGENCY SERVICES** - Public Hearing - Decision - Active Volunteer Fire Fighting and Rescue Squad Response Rewards Program

I move to approve the establishment of the Active Volunteer Firefighting and Rescue Squad Response Rewards Program in St. Mary's County.

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

## 5. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

A. DRAFT AGENDAS FOR MAY 13 AND 20, 2025.

**B.** CIRCUIT COURT FOR ST. MARY'S COUNTY - Renovate Circuit Courthouse to accommodate fifth courtroom

I move to approve the request to transfer \$217,000 from St. Mary's County Capital Reserve, with the understanding that the \$113,000 of operating salary savings will revert to fund balance at fiscal year end so the effective additional need is \$104,000, to add a fifth courtroom to the existing Circuit Courthouse building and renovations to Courtroom Four for additional office space and authorize the Commissioner president to sign all related documents.

Motion by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, second by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson, Jr. Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

**C. DEPARTMENT OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY** - Budget Amendment to request transfer of funds to Commissioner Emergency Reserve & I.T. Electronic Reference for RecTrak Software

I move to approve and authorize the Commissioner President to sign the budget amendment realigning funding from Information Technology Software Maintenance to the Commissioner's Emergency Reserve and Information Technology's Electronic Reference account, allowing the procurement of the software upgrade for Recreation and Parks operations.

Motion by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson, Jr., second by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

**D. DEPARTMENT OF LAND USE AND GROWTH MANAGEMENT** - Maryland Critical Area Commission Grant for FY 2026

I move to authorize the Department of Land Use and Growth Management to seek a Maryland Critical Area Commission Grant for FY 2026 in the amount of \$25,000.00 and authorize Commissioner President to sign all related documents.

Motion by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, second by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson, Jr.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

## **6. COMMISSIONERS' TIME**

The Commissioners highlighted events over the past week and provided general comments.

### 7. ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 11:10 p.m.	
Minutes approved by the Commissioners of St	. Mary's County on May 13, 2025.
JB	
Julie Burch, Senior Admin Coordinator	

#### 8. MAIN AGENDA - Part 2

## A. DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE - Bond Sale Award Acceptance

I move to authorize the County Administrator to accept the bid for the Bond Award as certified by the Chief Financial Officer.

Motion by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, second by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson, Jr.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

# 9. BUDGET WORK SESSION

**A. DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE** - Budget Work Session with follow-up from the public hearing and review of appeals and realignments

Present: Vanetta Van Cleave, Chief Financial Officer

Joy Sapp, Deputy Director of Finance

### 10. PUBLIC FORUM

#### **Present:**

Commissioner President James R. Guy

Commissioner Eric S. Colvin

Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt

Commissioner Michael R. Alderson, Jr.

Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow

David Weiskopf, County Administrator

Jenna Guzman, Communications Director, Public Information Office

Julie Burch, Recorder/Timekeeper

Commissioner President Guy called the Public Forum to order at 6:30 p.m. in the Chesapeake Building Meeting Room, Governmental Center, and requested Ms. Guzman provide the forum's format.

Public Forum comments were provided by:

Christina Stone, Great Mills, MD

James Scheufele, Charlotte Hall

Jessica Jolly, Great Mills, MD

Kim Skidmore, Charlotte Hall, MD

Fred Calvert, Leonardtown, MD

Michael Brown, Lexington Park, MD

Sandra Edelen, Charlotte Hall, MD

Dale Antosh, Mechanicsville, MD

Gina McCrady, Charlotte Hall, MD

Cynthia Cartwright, Lexington Park, MD

Deborah Hines, California, MD

Carol Ward, Charlotte Hall, MD

Mike Bellis, Leonardtown, MD

Lawrence Ludwig, Leonardtown, MD

Mary Ludwig, Leonardtown, MD

Tammy Payne, California, MD

Richard Lord, Bushwood, MD

Paul Goodwin, Charlotte Hall, MD

Sabrina Sepulveda, Leonardtown, MD

Barbara O'Neal, Ridge, MD

Jeremy Leissner, Great Mills, MD

Austin Tula, Charlotte Hall, MD

Heidi Lichlenberg, Charlotte Hall, MD

Jenny Bean, California, MD

Sandra Mueller, Charlotte Hall, MD

Natalie Campbell, Leonardtown, MD

Kristie Mattingly, Mechanicsville, MD

Linda Thomas, Lexington Park, MD

Billy Fitzgerald, Leonardtown, MD

Samantha Bowling, Charlotte Hall, MD

Nicole Paglierani, Callaway, MD

Leo Paglierani, Callaway, MD

Dimitri Savvas, California, MD

Sarah Penrod, California, MD

Jaymi Sterling, Leonardtown, MD

Susie Smith, Charlotte Hall, MD

Matthew Smith, Charlotte Hall, MD

Shanera McNeil, California, MD

Sharon Scott, Charlotte Hall, MD

Polly Traynham, Lexington Park, MD

There were no other citizens present who wished to speak, so Commissioner President Guy closed the Public Forum at 8:28 p.m.