St. Mary's County Government DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

COUNTY TO SERVICE AND SERVICE

James R. Guy, President
Eric Colvin, Commissioner
Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner
Todd B. Morgan, Commissioner
John E. O'Connor, Commissioner

Chris Kaselemis, Director

St. Mary's County Economic Development Commission October 20, 2021, 6:00 p.m., Chesapeake Building

Approved 1/19/2022

Call to Order: Elizabeth Torgerson called the meeting to order at 6:03 p.m.

Attendees: John Barr, Jr., Christine Bergmark, Curtis Brown, Lisa Creason, Phil Langley, Tristan Marino, Gerald Meyerman, Theresa Mitchell, Dr. Dale Moore, Elizabeth Torgerson

Staff: Chris Kaselemis, Kellie Hinkle, Destiny Allen, Katherine Stormont, Dana DiGregorio

Absent: Phil Dorsey, Brooke Higgs-Turner, Barbara Ives, Michael Schroeder,

Minutes:

No minutes to approve at this time

Announcements & Discussion:

Announcements:

1) Destiny Allen spoke to the members about the upcoming events: Economic Development Week 10/25 through 10/30), Smart Building Tour and AeroPark Business walk, MD Manufacturers Week Trivia Night, Halloween on the Square

Presentations:

- 1. <u>Comprehensive Plan Update Overview:</u> Bill Hunt, Department of Land Use & Growth Management Director presented to the commission information on what is being done SMC in relation to the Comprehensive Plan. He provided information on where to find update information on the county website. He specially focused on what has been looked into and is being implemented relating to Economic Development focus. Bill Hunt addressed questions and comments posed by the commission members.
- 2. <u>Land Preservation, Parks & Recreation Plan (LPPRP) Overview:</u> Chris Kaselemis spoke on the behalf of Art Shephard, Department of Recreation & Parks Director, about the LPPRP Update plan. Chris provided information on how to be involved or give input for the update. Chris addressed questions and comments posed by the commission members.
- 3. <u>CEDS Work Session Group Updates:</u> Christine Bergmark and Dr. Dale Moore gave an update on the discussion from the New Initiatives Subcommittee work sessions. Elizabeth Torgerson and Gerald Meyerman gave an update on the discussion from the Document Review Subcommittee work sessions. Tristen Marino and John Barr, Jr. gave an update for discussion from the Economic Resilience Subcommittee work sessions.
- 4. <u>Open Discussion:</u> Each member was given the opportunity to add any information or ask any additional questions.

Next Meeting:

The next meeting is scheduled for January 19, 2022, at 6:00 p.m. in the Chesapeake Building Meeting Room (or virtual).

Adjournment:

Action: Christine Bergmark made a motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Tristan Marino and approved unanimously.

Minutes taken by Dana DiGregorio, Sr. Administrative Coordinator, DED.