ST. MARY'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

COUNTY AND LAND

James R. Guy, President
Eric Colvin, Commissioner
Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner
Todd B. Morgan, Commissioner
John E. O'Connor, Commissioner

Chris Kaselemis, Director

St. Mary's County Economic Development Commission January 19, 2022, 6:00 p.m., Chesapeake Building/Virtual

DRAFT

Call to Order: Elizabeth Torgerson called the meeting to order at 6:03 p.m.

Attendees: John Barr, Jr., Curtis Brown, Lisa Creason- Colavito, Phil Dorsey, Barbara Ives, Dr. Dale Moore, Trisha Post, Rick Tarr, Elizabeth Torgerson

Staff: Chris Kaselemis, Kellie Hinkle, Katherine Stormont, Casey Guidry, Donna Sasscer

Absent: Christine Bergmark, Brooke Higgs-Turner, Tristan Marino, Gerald Meyerman, Theresa Mitchell.

Minutes:

Elizabeth Torgerson requested a motion for approval for the October 20, 2021 meeting minutes from the EDC members.

Action: Dale Moore made a motion to approve the October 20, 2021 meeting minutes. The motion was seconded by Lisa Creason. and approved unanimously.

Announcements & Discussion:

Announcements:

- 1) Destiny Allen has resigned and the department has posted to fill that position.
- 2) County Commissioners passed changes to the Alcohol Production Zoning Ordinance relating to Agricultural alcohol.
- 3) An increase in size to the The Rural Legacy Area (Mattapany and Huntersville) has been approved by the County "Commissioners and has been sent to the state for final approval.
- 4) The Memorandum of Understanding with the Regional Agricultural Center Meat Processing Plant (RAC) has been renewed with Southern Maryland Agicultural Development Commission. (SMADC).
- 5) The Barns at Newmarket is our new North County farmers market building Charlotte Hall will be opening soon. There have been a few delays due to construction material delays.
- 6) AeroPark Innovation District News: Business Association Meeting on Jan 20th.
- 7) Chris Kaselemis asked the two (2) new EDC members Rick Tarr and Trisha Post to introduce themselves to the commission.

Presentations:

1. State of Education Presentation:

Jeffrey Maher, PhD., spoke to the commission members about St. Mary's County Public Schools.

Kelly Winters spoke to the commission members about College of Southern Maryland (CSM) Workforce Development education and meeting the need for skilled workers in our area.

Eileen Abell, PhD., spoke to the commission members about University System of Maryland at Southern Maryland (USMSM) about educating and creating an education ecosystem to educate, offer opportunity and keep skilled workers in our workforce area. Katherine Gantz, spoke to the commission members about St. Mary's College of Maryland and bringing undergraduate students into the local workforce and careers in our area. SMCM is working on building a "local to local" pipeline, working with local contractors and businesses.

The panel members addressed questions and comments posed but commission members.

- 2. <u>CEDS Process Update:</u> Chris Kaselemis and Kellie Hinkle spoke to the commission members about where we are in the process of being in contract with a consultant to work with DED to have a new updated CEDS document.
- 3. <u>Open Discussion:</u> Each member was given the opportunity to add any information or ask any additional questions.
- 4. <u>Election of New EDC Officers</u>: Kellie Hinkle sent out the pole for the election of officers and members voted. The results were given once all members had voted. Chair: Elizabeth Torgerson, Vice Chair: John Barr, Secretary: Lisa Colavito

Next Meeting:

The next meeting is scheduled for April 20th, 2022, at 6:00 p.m. in the Chesapeake Building Meeting Room (or virtual).

Adjournment:

Action: John Barr made a motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Christine Bergmark and approved unanimously.

Minutes taken by Dana DiGregorio, Sr. Administrative Coordinator, DED.