## St. Mary's County Emergency Services Board Wednesday, February 10, 2021

# **1. CALL TO ORDER**

Meeting called to order at 1900

# 2. 1902 - ROLL CALL

#### **Members present**

J.A. Nelson, President St. Mary's County Fire Board Association Stephen Walker, Director of Emergency Services Gary Bell, Member at Large Vice Chair of ESB C P Miedzinski, County Fire Chief Dr. Dan Geary, Jurisdictional Medical Director

### Members on the Phone / WebEx:

Shawn Davidson, Emergency Medical Services Chief & Secretary of ESB Hattie Norris – Member at Large, EMS Carol Boehm – Chair of Ambulance and Rescue Squad Association

# **3. PRESENTATION**

#### A. Review & Approve Minutes

I move to accept the minutes from the December 9<sup>th</sup>, 2020 meeting as presented.

Motion by C P Miedzinski, second by JA Nelson. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Shawn Davidson, JA Nelson, Stephen Walker, Gary Bell, C P Miedzinski, Hattie Norris, Carol Boehm

## **3. PRESENTATION**

**A. Overview of the Department of Emergency Services FY22 Budget Request** Steve Walker gave an overview of the DES FY22 Budget Request.

## **4. COMMITTEE REPORTS**

There were no Committee Reports

## 5. OLD BUSINESS

## A. CAD Replacement Update

Steve Walker gave an update on the CAD Replacement

### **B.** Harris Radio Systems

Steve Walker gave an update on the Harris Radio system. Larry Miedzinski, Lead Radio Manager for Emergency Services, gave an update on the preventive maintenance on portable radios.

## C. LOSAP Update

I move to approve and forward a letter to the CSMC requesting implementations of the LOSAP recommendations to also include Death Benefits.

Motion by JA Nelson, second by Stephen Walker. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Shawn Davidson, JA Nelson, Stephen Walker, Gary Bell, C P Miedzinski, Hattie Norris, Carol Boehm

# 6. NEW BUSINESS

## A. Annual Report

I move to approve the 2020 Annual Report for the Emergency Services Board as presented.

Motion by JA Nelson, second by C P Miedzinski.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Shawn Davidson, JA Nelson, Stephen Walker, Gary Bell, C P Miedzinski, Hattie Norris, Carol Boehm

## **B. Emergency Service Report**

Steve Walker gave an update on the Emergency Services Report.

#### **C. Special Elections**

*MOTION 1* : I move to enter into a Special Election to replace the Chairperson and Vice Chairperson of the Emergency Services Board for the year of 2021.

Motion by JA Nelson, second by Stephen Walker. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Shawn Davidson, JA Nelson, Stephen Walker, Gary Bell, C P Miedzinski, Hattie Norris, Carol Boehm

*MOTION 2* : I nominate Gary Bell for Chair of the Emergency Services Board for the year of 2021.

Motion by C P Miedzinski, second by Shawn Davidson. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Shawn Davidson, JA Nelson, Stephen Walker, Gary Bell, C P Miedzinski, Hattie Norris, Carol Boehm *MOTION 3* : I nominate Hattie Norris for Vice - Chair of the Emergency Services Board for the year of 2021.

Motion by Stephen Walker, second by C P Miedzinski. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Shawn Davidson, JA Nelson, Stephen Walker, Gary Bell, C P Miedzinski, Hattie Norris, Carol Boehm

### **D. 508 AMOSS Funding**

Steve Walker gave an update on the 508 AMOSS Funding.

## 7. BOARD MEMBER

Steve Walker recognized the Board Members for their time and service on the Board and presented them with Certificates of Appreciation from the St. Mary's County Commissioners.

J.A. Nelson thanked Senator Bailey for introducing the <u>Senate Bill 99</u> aimed to add police and first responders to the protected groups in Maryland's hate crime law.

## 8. ADJOURN

### A. Adjourn

I move to adjourn the meeting at 2011.

Motion by C P Miedzinski, second by JA Nelson. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Shawn Davidson, JA Nelson, Stephen Walker, Gary Bell, C P Miedzinski, Hattie Norris, Carol Boehm

Darlene Mund Recorder Minutes approved by St. Mary's County Emergency Services Board on April 14th, 2021.