#### ST. MARY'S COUNTY ETHICS COMMISSION St. Mary's County Chesapeake Building Minutes of February 7, 2022

David Willenborg, Chair Joseph Russell, Vice Chair (via Zoom) Larry Crabtree Dr. Joseph DeVitis, Alternate Jean-Marie Hansen Kathleen McClernan-Walz (Via Zoom) Joe Densford, Counsel for the Ethics Commission
Diane Gleissner, Recorder

## CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Mr. Willenborg at 6:05 p.m.

### ANNOUNCEMENTS

The next meeting of the St. Mary's County Ethics Commission will be on Monday, April 4, 2022.

# **OLD BUSINESS**

**Electronic Signature** – Mr. Willenborg spoke by phone with Bob Kelly, IT Director about electronic signatures. Mr. Kelly said his department would work on a program to allow Financial Disclosure filers to sign electronically. This will ensure a valid electronic signature.

A motion was made by Ms. Hansen, seconded by Mr. Crabtree to approve using electronic signatures starting in calendar year 2022, for financial disclosure statements filed January 1 through December 31, 2021. Vote passed 5-0.

**Financial Disclosure Statement Instructions** – The Commission reviewed the draft instructions and added a definition for real property. Mr. Densford suggested once Mr. Kelly adds the digital signature portion to the financial disclosure statements, that instructions be added for completing the digital signature portion of the forms. No motion was taken, but all members agreed.

## **NEW BUSINESS**

**Discussion of Possible Ethics Violation** – The Commission discussed if the subject of the possible violation fell under the Ethics Commissions jurisdiction, since there was nothing in the St. Mary's County Ethics Ordinance that referenced that item. Mr. Densford suggested asking the County Attorney's office to investigate the matter to see if it violated any trademark infringements with the county.

A motion was made by Mr. Russell, seconded by Ms. Hansen to table this issue upon the advice of the County Attorney. Vote passed 5 - 0.

## Elections

A motion was made by Mr. Crabtree and seconded by Ms. Hansen to re-elect Mr. Willenborg as chair of the Ethics Commission. Vote passed 5 - 0.

A motion was made by Mr. Crabtree and seconded by Ms. Hansen to re-elect Mr. Russell as vice-chair of the Ethics Commission. Vote passed 5 - 0.

## ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Ms. McClernan-Walz and seconded by Mr. Russell to adjourn the meeting. The St. Mary's County Ethics Commission meeting was adjourned at 6:40 p.m. Vote passed 5-0.