Hazard Mitigation Planning Board Wednesday, November 18, 2020

1. CALL TO ORDER

Meeting called to order at 10:00 AM

2. ROLL CALL

Members Present:

Tony Wheatley, Town of Leonardtown Steve Walker, Director of Emergency Services Gerald Gardiner, Emergency Management Mark Stancliff, IT

Members on the Phone:

Philip Burch, SHA District 5 Bill Hunt, LUGM Ed Hogan, METCOM Mike Wyant, Public Schools John Deatrick DPW&T

Members Absent:

Vince Whittles, Community Member

3. PRESENTATION(S)

A. Review & Approve Minutes

I move to accept minutes from the February 20, 2020, as presented. Philip Burch not present at vote

Motion by Michael Wyant, second by Tony Wheatley. Motion Carries Yea: John Deatrick, Stephen Walker, Mark Stancliff, Michael Wyant, Bill Hunt, Tony Wheatley, Gerald Gardiner, Ed Hogan

4. OLD BUSINESS

A. Hazard Mitigation Grant Program / Project Withdrawal

Gerald Gardiner gave an update on the grant program and the withdrawal of the application because it did not meet the Cost, Benifit Anyalisis.

5. NEW BUSINESS

A. Meeting Calendar for 2021

I move to accept the meeting dates as presented for the calendar year 2021.

Motion by Tony Wheatley, second by Mark Stancliff.

Motion Carries

Yea: Phillip Burch, John Deatrick, Stephen Walker, Mark Stancliff, Michael Wyant, Bill Hunt, Tony Wheatley, Gerald Gardiner, Ed Hogan

B. Bylaws

Motion 1:

I move to endorse and forward the St. Mary's County Hazard Mitigation Planning Committee Bylaws to the Commissioners of St. Mary's County for their approval.

Motion by Tony Wheatley, second by Ed Hogan. Motion Carries Yea: Phillip Burch, John Deatrick, Stephen Walker, Mark Stancliff, Michael Wyant, Bill Hunt, Gerald Gardiner, Michael Wyant, Mark Stancliff

Motion 2:

I move to enter into electing a Vice-Chairperson and nominate John Deatrick for Vice-Chairperson.

Motion by Stephen Walker, second by Michael Wyant. Motion Carries Yea: Phillip Burch, John Deatrick, Stephen Walker, Mark Stancliff, Michael Wyant, Bill Hunt, Tony Wheatley, Gerald Gardiner, Ed Hogan

C. St. Mary's Nuisance Flooding Plan

I move to endorse the St. Mary's County Nuisance Flooding Plan and add as an appendix to the Hazard Mitigation Plan and forward to the Commissioners of St. Mary's County for their approval.

Motion by Tony Wheatley, second by Stephen Walker. Motion Carries Yea: Phillip Burch, John Deatrick, Stephen Walker, Mark Stancliff, Michael Wyant, Bill Hunt, Tony Wheatley, Gerald Gardiner, Ed Hogan

D. Hazard Mitigation Plan

The Emergency Services Department has started process on updating the Hazard Mitigation Plan.

E. Tropical Storm Isaias

- Tony Wheatley, from Leonardtown, added that the Town of Leonardtown is working with a contractor to come in around Dec 7th 2020 to make sure the area of McIntosh Run is clear from the bridge at the Winery to Breton Bay.
- Gerald is requesting that Town of Leonardtown look into the North End of McIntosh Run and Maple Road as well.
- The County did not meet the FEMA requirements for Public Assistance. The State of Maryland has filed an appeal with FEMA.
- Individual Assistance for citizens was declined because the County did not meet FEMA's requirement

I move to forward the letter to CSMC to include in the FY22 and future year budgets, for the operational cost from USGS for the monitoring system to be installed on McIntosh Run in the amount of \$15,000 annually.

Motion by Stephen Walker, second by Tony Wheatley. Motion Carries Yea: Phillip Burch, John Deatrick, Stephen Walker, Mark Stancliff, Michael Wyant, Bill Hunt, Tony Wheatley, Gerald Gardiner, Ed Hogan

F. Hazard Mitigation Community Assessment

Gerald Gardiner discussed a community assessment for citizens and the preparedness for natural disasters that will be sent out within the next few weeks.

G. Hazard Mitigation Outreach

Gerald Gardiner provided information on preparedness materials that was sent out to mobile homeowners by LUGM.

6. PUBLIC COMMENT

No Public Comments

7. ADJOURN

A. Adjourn

I move to adjourn the meeting 11:20 A.M.

Motion by Tony Wheatley, second by Stephen Walker. Motion Carries Yea: Phillip Burch, John Deatrick, Stephen Walker, Mark Stancliff, Michael Wyant, Bill Hunt, Tony Wheatley, Gerald Gardiner, Ed Hogan

Darlene Mund, Recorder Minutes approved by Animal Control Advisory Board on 2/17/21.