Hazard Mitigation Planning Board Wednesday, February 21, 2024

1. CALL TO ORDER

Meeting was called to order at 10:00 AM

2. ROLL CALL

Members Present

Phillip Burch, SHA District 5 Tony Wheatley, Town of Leonardtown Vince Whittles, Community Member Ed Hogan, METCOM James Gotsch, DPWT Gerald Gardiner, Deputy Director DES Jessica Andritz, Land Use & Growth Management Amy Bledsoe, Emergency Manager

Members in Audience

Angela Berry, St Mary's County Public School

Members not Present

Eric Benson, Information & Technology

A. Review & Approve Minutes

I move to approve the minutes for Nov 8, 2023, where prior year minutes were approved electronically.

Motion by Tony Wheatley, second by Vince Whittles. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Phillip Burch, Tony Wheatley, Vince Whittles, Ed Hogan, Gerald Gardiner, James Gotsch, Jessica Andritz

3. OLD BUSINESS

A. Silver Jackets

Gerald Gardiner gave an update on the report that documented the flooding in Leonardtown during Tropical Storm Isaias. He also directed the Board to the report in BoardDocs for further information.

B. Tropical Storm Isaias updates

Gerald Gardiner gave an update on the projects that are related to the storm and funds that were received back into the community. He also thanked Amy Bledsoe for her involvement in the projects and returning funds to the County.

4. NEW BUSINESS

A. Meeting Calendar 2024

I move to approve the 2024 calendar year meeting dates as presented.

Motion by James Gotsch, second by Jessica Andritz. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Phillip Burch, Tony Wheatley, Vince Whittles, Ed Hogan, Gerald Gardiner, James Gotsch, Jessica Andritz

B. Election for 2024

Motion 1 - I move to elect Amy Bledsoe for the position of Chairperson for the Hazard Mitigation Planning Board for the year 2024.

Motion by Tony Wheatley, second by Vince Whittles. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Phillip Burch, Tony Wheatley, Vince Whittles, Ed Hogan, James Gotsch, Gerald Gardiner, Jessica Andritz

Motion 2 - I move to elect Ed Hogan for the position of Vice-Chairperson for the Hazard Mitigation Planning Board for the year 2024.

Motion by Tony Wheatley, second by Vince Whittles. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Phillip Burch, Tony Wheatley, Vince Whittles, Ed Hogan, James Gotsch, Gerald Gardiner, Jessica Andritz

C. Annual Report 2022

I move to approve the 2022 Hazard Mitigation Planning Board Annual report as presented and forward to CSMC.

Motion by Ed Hogan, second by James Gotsch. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Phillip Burch, Tony Wheatley, Vince Whittles, Ed Hogan, Gerald Gardiner, James Gotsch, Jessica Andritz

D. Annual Report 2023

I move to approve the 2023 Hazard Mitigation Planning Board Annual report as presented and forward to CSMC.

Motion by Ed Hogan, second by Tony Wheatley. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Phillip Burch, Tony Wheatley, Vince Whittles, Ed Hogan, Gerald Gardiner, James Gotsch, Jessica Andritz

E. Hazard Mitigation Plan Update

Gerald Gardiner gave an update on the Hazard Mitigation Plan. He advised that the next update, which is scheduled for 2027, will be reported to FEMA with any actions that are being taken. The plan is in BoardDocs for public review.

F. SMC Local Roadway Safety Plan Overview

James Gotsch gave a PowerPoint presentation of the St. Mary's County Local Roadway Safety Plan Overview.

G. Proposed Hazard Mitigation Project Addition

I move to add the review and discussion of the proposed Hazard Mitigation project for the addition of fixed variable message sign boards at County Government locations to the Hazard Mitigation Plan.

Motion by Ed Hogan, second by Tony Wheatley.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Phillip Burch, Tony Wheatley, Vince Whittles, Ed Hogan, James Gotsch, Gerald Gardiner, Jessica Andritz

H. Community Coordination and Outreach Risk Maps

Jessica Andritz touched on the highlights and gave an overview for the proposed updates from FEMA to the County's Flood Insurance Rate Maps.

5. BOARD MEMBER TIME

No Board comments.

6. ADJOURN

A. Adjourn

I move to adjourn the meeting at 10:58 AM

Motion by Tony Wheatley, second by Vince Whittles. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Phillip Burch, Tony Wheatley, Vince Whittles, Ed Hogan, Gerald Gardiner, James Gotsch, Jessica Andritz

Darlene Mund Recorder. Minutes approved with changes made by Hazard Mitigation Planning Board on May 15, 2024.