8/31/22, 8:39 AM BoardDocs® Plus

# Joint Meeting of the Police Accountability Board and the Administrative Charging Committee (Wednesday, July 13, 2022)

Generated by Diane Gleissner on Thursday, July 14, 2022

## Members present

Nicholas Cromwell
Michelle Dowleyne
Leslie Everett
Frank Kauffman
John Lydon
Thomas Phelan
Charles Shilling
Joseph L Van Kirk
Peter Wild
John Houser, Assistant County Attorney
Diane Gleissner, Coordinator II

#### **Absent**

Dr. Linda Lymas

Meeting called to order at 6:38 PM

## 1. CALL TO ORDER

Call to Order: A. CALL TO ORDER

Nickolas Cromwell, Chair, called the joint meeting of the Police Accountability Board and Administrative Charging Committee to order at 6:38 pm in the Chesapeake Building Meeting Room, Governmental Center.

## 2. ROLL CALL

Action: A. AGENDA

I move to accept the agenda as presented.

Motion by John Lydon, second by Charles Shilling.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Nicholas Cromwell, Michelle Dowleyne, Leslie Everett, Frank Kauffman, John Lydon, Thomas Phelan, Charles Shilling,

Joseph L Van Kirk, Peter Wild

## 3. NEW BUSINESS

# A. OFFICE OF THE COUNTY ATTORNEY - Police Accountability Board and Administrative Charging Committee

Orientation

Present: John Houser, Assistant County Attorney

Mr. Houser discussed requirements and the process that established the Police Accountability Board and the Administrative Charging Committee; House Bill 670; MD Public Safety Code Ann.§ 3-102; Md Public Safety Code Ann. § 3-104; Title 12 Department of Public Safety and Correction Services Subtitle 04 Police Training and Standards Commission, Chapter 09 - Police Accountability Board and Administrative Charging Committees; Title 12 Department of Public Safety and Correction Services Subtitle 04 Police Training and Standards Commission, Chapter 10 - Model Uniform Disciplinary Matrix; Statewide Police Disciplinary Matrix; Open Meetings Act (County and State); Public Ethics Ordinance; the Rules of Order for St. Mary's County Boards and Commissions and the requirement to complete a Financial Disclosure Statement.

## **B. ELECTION OF OFFICERS**

Mr. Cromwell made the motion to nominate Joseph Van Kirk as Vice-Chair.

I move to approve Joseph Van Kirk as Vice Chair.

Motion by Nicholas Cromwell, second by Thomas Phelan.

Motion Carries

https://go.boarddocs.com/md/stmarysco/Board.nsf/Private?open&login

8/31/22, 8:39 AM BoardDocs® Plus

Yea: Nicholas Cromwell, Michelle Dowleyne, Leslie Everett, Frank Kauffman, John Lydon, Thomas Phelan, Charles Shilling, Joseph L Van Kirk, Peter Wild

#### C. ADOPTION OF BY-LAWS

I move to adopt the proposed by-laws for the Police Accountability Board with the amendments discussed by Chairperson Cromwell.

Motion by Frank Kauffman, second by Michelle Dowleyne.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Nicholas Cromwell, Michelle Dowleyne, Leslie Everett, Frank Kauffman, John Lydon, Thomas Phelan, Charles Shilling,

Joseph L Van Kirk, Peter Wild

## D. ADOPTION OF 2022 MEETING SCHEDULE FOR THE POLICE ACCOUNTABILITY BOARD

7/13 Joint Meeting with the Administrative Charging Committee 8/17 Joint Meeting with the Administrative Charging Committee 11/9 Meeting 12/7 Meeting

I move to adopt the Police Accountability Board meeting schedule as amended.

Motion by Frank Kauffman, second by Charles Shilling.

Motion Carries

Yea: Nicholas Cromwell, Michelle Dowleyne, Leslie Everett, Frank Kauffman, John Lydon, Thomas Phelan, Charles Shilling, Joseph L Van Kirk, Peter Wild

# E. INVITATION OF APPLICATIONS FOR ADMINISTRATIVE CHARGING COMMITTEE VACANCIES (2)

I move that the board invite applications from the public for two appointments to the Administrative Charging Committee and direct staff to issue a press release and collect applications on the board's behalf.

Motion by Charles Shilling, second by Frank Kauffman.

Motion Carries

Yea: Nicholas Cromwell, Michelle Dowleyne, Leslie Everett, Frank Kauffman, John Lydon, Thomas Phelan, Charles Shilling, Joseph L Van Kirk, Peter Wild

## 4. ADJOURN

Action: A. MOTION TO ADJOURN I move to adjourn the meeting.

Motion by Nicholas Cromwell, second by Thomas Phelan

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Nicholas Cromwell, Ylonda Dowleyne, Leslie Everett, Frank Kauffman, John Lydon, Dr Linda Lymas, Thomas Phelan,

Charles Shilling, Joseph L VanKirk, Peter Wild