Skip To Main Content

2022)

Generated by Diane Gleissner and Gillian Bacon on Wednesday, August 31, 2022

Members present

Nicholas Cromwell,
Michelle Dowleyne, via ZOOM
Leslie Everett
Frank Kauffman
John Lydon
Dr Linda Lymas
Thomas Phelan
Charles Shilling
Joseph L VanKirk
Peter Wild

John Houser, Assistant County Attorney Gillian Bacon, Legal Assistant, II Diane Gleissner, Coordinator, II

1. CALL TO ORDER

Call to Order: A. CALL TO ORDER

Nickolas Cromwell, Chair called the joint meeting of the Police Accountability Board and Administrative Charging Committee to order at 6:39 pm in the Chesapeake Building Meeting Room, Governmental Center.

2. ROLL CALL

Action: A. AGENDA

I move to accept the agenda as presented.

Motion by Nicholas Cromwell, second by Leslie Everett.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Nicholas Cromwell, Michelle Dowleyne, Leslie Everett, Frank Kauffman, John Lydon, Dr Linda Lymas, Thomas Phelan, Charles

Shilling, Joseph L VanKirk, Peter Wild

Action: B. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Minutes, Action: C. APPROVAL OF MINUTES I move to approve the minutes as presented.

Motion by Nicholas Cromwell, second by Thomas Phelan.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Nicholas Cromwell, Michelle Dowleyne, Leslie Everett, Frank Kauffman, John Lydon, Dr Linda Lymas, Thomas Phelan, Charles

Shilling, Joseph L VanKirk, Peter Wild

3. CLOSED SESSION

Action, Discussion: A. Personnel - Appointments to Boards, Committees and Commissions The Police Accountability Board went into closed session at 6:45 pm.

I move to go into closed session for the purpose of discussing personnel.

Motion by Michelle Dowleyne, second by John Lydon.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Nicholas Cromwell, Michelle Dowleyne, Leslie Everett, Frank Kauffman, John Lydon, Dr Linda Lymas, Thomas Phelan, Charles Shilling, Joseph L VanKirk, Peter Wild

Leslie Everett and Charles Shilling recused themselves from the discussion since both are being considered for the Administrative Charging Committee.

Action: B. ADJOURN CLOSED SESSION

The Police Accountability Board adjourned Closed Session at 7:57 pm.

I move to adjourn closed session.

Motion by John Lydon, second by Thomas Phelan.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Nicholas Cromwell, Michelle Dowleyne, Frank Kauffman, John Lydon, Dr Linda Lymas, Thomas Phelan, Joseph L VanKirk

Abstain: Leslie Everett, Charles Shilling, Peter Wild

Action: C ENTER INTO OPEN SESSION

The Police Accountability Board entered into Open Session at 7:58 pm

I move to a enter into open session.

Motion by John Lydon, second by Thomas Phelan.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Nicholas Cromwell, Michelle Dowleyne, Frank Kauffman, John Lydon, Dr Linda Lymas, Thomas Phelan, Joseph L VanKirk

Abstain: Leslie Everett, Charles Shilling, Peter Wild

I move to appoint Michael Deitch to the Administrative Charging Committee

Motion by Nickolas Cromwell, second by John Lydon

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Nicholas Cromwell, Michelle Dowleyne, Frank Kauffman, John Lydon, Dr Linda Lymas, Thomas Phelan, Joseph L VanKirk

Abstain: Leslie Everett, Charles Shilling, Peter Wild

I move to appoint Joyce Dyson to the Administrative Charging Committee

Motion by Nickolas Cromwell, second by Dr Linda Lymas

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Nicholas Cromwell, Michelle Dowleyne, Frank Kauffman, John Lydon, Dr Linda Lymas, Thomas Phelan, Joseph L VanKirk

Abstain: Leslie Everett, Charles Shilling, Peter Wild

4. NEW BUSINESS

Action: A. ELECTION OF OFFICERS - ADMINISTRATIVE CHARGING COMMITTEE I move to table the Election of Officers until the September 14, 2022 meeting.

Motion by Nicholas Cromwell, second by Peter Wild.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Nicholas Cromwell, Michelle Dowleyne, Leslie Everett, Frank Kauffman, John Lydon, Dr Linda Lymas, Thomas Phelan, Charles

Shilling, Joseph L VanKirk, Peter Wild

Action: B. ADOPTION OF BY-LAWS - ADMINISTRATIVE CHARGING COMMITTEE

I move to table the adoption of the by-laws for the Administrative Charging Committee until the September 14, 2022 meeting.

Motion by Nicholas Cromwell, second by Peter Wild.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Nicholas Cromwell, Michelle Dowleyne, Leslie Everett, Frank Kauffman, John Lydon, Dr Linda Lymas, Thomas Phelan, Charles

Shilling, Joseph L VanKirk, Peter Wild

Action: C. ADOPTION OF MEETING SCHEDULE

Adoption of the meeting schedule was tabled until the September 14, 2022 meeting.

Mr. Houser suggested since the Administrative Charging Committee (ACC) is required to meet monthly, but doesn't have a large agenda, that the Police Accountability Board also meet directly after after the ACC adjourns, on September 14 and October 26, 2022, and have a Sheriff's Office Representative give a presentation on their operating procedures.

I move to have the Police Accountability Board hold additional meetings on September 14 and October 26, 2022.

Motion by Nicholas Cromwell, second by John Lydon

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Nicholas Cromwell, Michelle Dowleyne, Leslie Everett, Frank Kauffman, John Lydon, Dr Linda Lymas, Thomas Phelan, Charles

Shilling, Joseph L VanKirk, Peter Wild

5. ADJOURN

Action: A. Mr. Shilling's PAB Motions

Mr. Cromwell asked that the proposed motions of Mr. Shilling be added to BoardDocs to be viewed at a later date. Ms. Bacon will ask Ms. Ferris to add these since the agenda has been finalized.

Action: B. MOTION TO ADJOURN I move to adjourn the meeting.

Motion by Nicholas Cromwell, second by Charles Shilling.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Nicholas Cromwell, Michelle Dowleyne, Leslie Everett, Frank Kauffman, John Lydon, Dr Linda Lymas, Thomas Phelan, Charles Shilling, Joseph L VanKirk, Peter Wild

Meeting adjourned at 8:38 pm.